Shrinky-dink rehab

Well, I have lots of Christmas crafts I haven’t had a chance to blog about yet, but I’m really happy because I just survived a few hours of jewelry-making, in spite of my splinted broken left wrist. My hand is tired, my whole body is tired, my pace is much slower than before, and the handle of the pliers kept trying to work its way under my splint–but I’m still thrilled I won’t have to wait to play with shrink plastic craft ideas until February.

Here’s what we made today. The flower ones are cuter in real life (and good lighting); they spin on their pin and are bright and light. Mabel made the disks for the bracelet and I assembled it, and she’s also been helping the kids make rings. (You find a finger-sized mold, such as a marker, and immediately wrap the ring around the mold when it comes out of the oven.)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, Kid Crafts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Shrinky-dink rehab

  1. the MomB says:

    Gee, that was a long break you took from posting! But the wait was worth it–the jewelry is so pretty, funky, nicely made, cute, etc. Henry’s expression is, as usual, priceless. And I recognized Mabel’s very lovely hand instantly.

    • zstitches says:

      I really do need to take photos in good light one of these times. 🙂

      And I do think it’ll be a while before I’ll catch up on blogging about all the Christmas stuff, if I ever even do.

  2. Helen Hall says:

    I’m so glad you’re back to your shrinky-dink jewelry. That means it won’t be long before you can make your mom that awesome grandchildren bracelet everyone comments on when I wear it. 🙂 I also dearly love the forget-me-nots!

  3. Jbug says:

    I love that you have different categories for Shrink plastic jewelry and shrinky-dink jewelry. 🙂

  4. Lili says:

    haha, awesome!

Leave a comment