The parable of Rita and Lettie, or why I’ll be taking at least a short break from blogging

[Dictated by Zina/typed by Mabel, Sunday]

Rita and Lettie always did everything together. Rita was always a little bit better at everything than Lettie was, but neither of them minded. They had done everything together for so long that they knew how to anticipate each other, and work as one.

Then Lettie got hurt. Rita was still perfectly well, and she could do things on her own, but she felt like she had to work twice as hard without her usual helper, and it made her lonely, and she got tired faster than usual. So finally she decided just to take a break until Lettie was healed.

[Typed by Zina, next day]

I was going to dictate the whole story of my injury to Mabel, but we ran out of time and right now I need a nap, so, long story short: Last Tuesday while ice skating, I fell and broke my left wrist (radius) badly enough to require immediate surgery, a metal plate, and lots of pins. The doctor said it “Wasn’t the worst [he’d] seen,” but when I asked, “But it’s up there?” he nodded.

I’m in a splint and can move my fingers–although they were very numb at first and my thumb still is–but I’m typing this two-handed with not too much discomfort (this is my best typing since the injury) although the angle of my wrist and weight of my splint make typing harder than normal. I’ll get my splint off around Feb 8 (6 weeks from surgery) and, yes, I’m counting the days.

This entry was posted in Health or lack thereof. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The parable of Rita and Lettie, or why I’ll be taking at least a short break from blogging

  1. hannahholt says:

    Ouch! So sorry about your wrist. I hope you receive lots of pampering this month!

  2. the MomB says:

    Dear Zina, you know how bad I feel about your shattered wrist. And Mabel, thank you for being your mother’s part-time scribe.
    In other news, I am wondering where the ad came from that’s shown up at the end of your post?

  3. Jason says:

    Heal fast!

  4. the MomB says:

    Also, I love the names you have given your hands. I shall be thinking of Lettie as Letitia, Lettie for short. I think someone should name one of my granddaughters Letitia. But you already knew that.

  5. Jen says:

    I am glad you are graciously allowing Rita a break. My mean husband put a sticker on my sister’s right arm when she had her left handed accident and said, “Now what are you going to do?” It was SO mean, but SO funny.

Leave a Reply

