With Rose, every story has a twist

Henry_kite_flyer

I know this is by far not the first time I’ve said this, but: I really don’t want to let this little blog die its natural death. I just need to figure out how to migrate everything I post on Facebook to here, or make the habit of duplicating everything there and here. And I need to back up this blog and its more-than-a-thousand posts. (So, basically there are three daunting-to-me tasks standing between this blog and its full resurrection.)

But since this story is just a little too long for Facebook, it gives me the impetus for a little blog-resuscitation. So at least it won’t flat-line.

Sometimes a lighthearted dinner conversation unexpectedly turns heavy. At Rose’s and Henry’s school they’ve been doing various safety drills this week, and tonight 9-year-old Rose told me, “Mrs. West told us something today that made some of the kids in our class cry. She said that we’re like her children at school, and she would die from a gun to protect us. When she said that, it made some of the kids, like Kaleb and Lindsay, cry.”

I said, “That makes me get tears in my eyes, too, because I know she really would do that to protect you.”

Rose asked, “Would you die to protect us, too?”

“Yes, I would. But I hope I would never have to, because I want to stay alive to take care of you.”

“At recess I was talking with Kaleb and Lindsay and we were saying how we love Mrs. West so much, and she’s such a good teacher, that we would want to protect her. I said I would die from a gun to protect her.”

“I’m glad you love her so much that you would be willing to do that. But it’s the job of grown-ups to protect children, so if she had to protect you, you should let her. And then when you’re a grown-up, you can protect children.”

Henry said, “So if there are children around when we grow up, we should protect them?”

I said, “Yes. Like, Rose might have kids around if she becomes a schoolteacher, or if she becomes a mom.”

Henry said, “But if you’re a teacher you’ll have lots of kids around, more than if you’re a mom, so it would be harder to protect them.”

Rose thought for a moment. “Well, I want to be an engineer. And . . . I might want to live alone.”


Rose_kite

Rose_birthday_girl

Rose’s birthday fell on St. Patrick’s Day this year

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to With Rose, every story has a twist

  1. Lili says:

    I’m so glad they put a “like” button on wordpress blogs. 😉

  2. Karen Baird says:

    I have to admit that Rose’s comment made me laugh.

  3. Thank you for this wonderful post.

  4. grandma weight says:

    It is so sad that teachers have to lead such converstions. You handled it well! Love her comment about living alone–we might all have to become hermits!

  5. Tears to my eyes. Both of sadness and of…
    hilarity.

  6. jbug says:

    🙂 Love it!

  7. Hannah Holt says:

    But, but… I’m an engineer. What is she saying! 😉 LOL.

  8. Bob Pettit says:

    Found your gem of a Malaprops! post (loved it) via a friend on FB, then browsed back only one post before finding another nugget and excuse to comment.
    a.) Your kids are adorable and hilarious.
    b.) Rose looks (and apparently thinks) like Girl Genius. A main character in my fav webcomic. You probably don’t have time, but here you go anyway. Start from the beginning.
    http://www.girlgeniusonline.com/
    c.) My wife is currently renovating/resuscitating a site called Better Blogger Network (http://betterbloggernetwork.ning.com/) and may have some useful resouces for you on there now or in a few weeks. Please don’t view this as spam, I’m actually just trying to be as helpful and encouraging as the internets will allow.

    People who find the time to share sections of their lives and minds via blogs and webcomics and the like are my heros. Thanks for being one!

Leave a Reply

