Jacks of Lantern

Well, hello there, imaginary blog. One would almost have thought you had ceased to exist. I’ve been very busy reading articles explaining why my preferred presidential candidate could win, and other articles explaining why he couldn’t possibly win.

Before that, I was sick for about a month, which I do not recommend, and before that I had a miscarriage, which I especially do not recommend.

And then Halloween came! Much too quickly! In spite of croup and strep, we managed to celebrate with some traditional Halloween merriment. Here are some photos to prove it.

Selecting pumpkins:

My sister and brother-in-law have an annual carving party, which is probably the most fun my kids have all year. This year Mabel spent the week before the party planning designs. She created these bunny and bear designs for Hazel and Henry (carved by me and by Dean):

And for her pumpkin, she took slow-motion movies of Henry and Rose jumping into leaves, then used Photoshop to convert the images to silhouettes:

She chose the second of the above images for her Jack o’ lantern–but, sadly, the design proved to be a little too detailed for her medium-sized pumpkin. When parts of it broke off, she converted her design to this, which won the “Happiest Mistake” award:

Dean’s Warty o’ Lantern:

Dean helped Rose craft a pumpkin-within-a-pumpkin design:

Isaac’s instructional pumpkin:

My Jack-Skellington-inspired grinner:

My mom, who is a self-educated historian of Halloween art and traditions, says that the very first Jack o’ lanterns were made from turnips. Here’s Mabel’s 2nd Jack (from a pumpkin) and my mom’s bell-pepper one:

Mabel’s friend Maddie went floral:

And my sister Lili created this stunningly adorable Totoro and Friend:

The whole assemblage:

Well. I was going to put the photos of my kids’ Halloween costumes in this post, but I think it’s already long enough; don’t you?

I’d forgotten how long blogging takes. Goodness. No wonder people abandon their blogs.

This entry was posted in Crafts, Kid Crafts, Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jacks of Lantern

  1. elkmeadow says:

    What a beautiful array of photos and creativity! Thank you for taking the time to share them!!

  2. Nae says:

    That’s an impressive bunch of pumpkins! I must say…the pumpkins are my favorite part of the season. πŸ™‚

  3. Never mind that the “failure” turned out so well. The drawing she made from the photos is awesome!

  4. Jane says:

    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ˜›

  5. Hannah Holt says:

    Wow! Your kids make the coolest pumpkins.

  6. Jenny says:

    These are magnificent.

Leave a Reply

