Real zipper-zappers

Sometimes something is too long for a facebook post, but awfully short for a blog post. I guess it’s actually worse when something is short enough for facebook, because lately all my kids’ little funny sayings and doings have been going on facebook rather than on this blog. But on the other hand, maybe that’s better. Which is more permanent, this blog, or facebook? I’ve never even backed up this blog, although I always mean to.

Technology is wonderful, but it causes conundrums.

Maybe I’ll start by collecting my kids’ sayings off of facebook and putting them here. Redundancy is at least a step toward permanency, I hope. Except, I’m not going to do that right now. I’m just going to share this little story about Hazel.

Hazel just asked me, “Mom, can I zap the bad guys?”

“Sure.”

She shook her head sadly. “No, I can’t. Because I don’t have a zipper-zapper.”

“Oh.” I pointed to a toy fork in her hand. “Well, that could be your pretend zipper-zapper.”

“No, that’s a food toy. We need to go to the store to buy a real zipper-zapper.”

I took the toy fork and pretended to run my debit card and enter my PIN. “There. I pretended to buy this pretend zipper-zapper for you.”

She looked at it dubiously but accepted it. A minute later she brought me a pencil. “Buy this pretend zipper-zapper, too.”

She spent few minutes of fighting bad guys with her two pretend zipper-zappers. Then she found a key she’s been playing with all week–we’re not sure what it goes to–and told me “My key is a zipper zapper too! Now I have three zipper zappers!” She sighed happily. “I love you, Mom. I love everybody in the world!”

“Except the bad guys.”

“Right! I hate the bad guys! Everybody hates the bad guys!”

Mabel played hairstylist and photographer with Hazel the other day. (Unfortunately, Hazel didn’t like the style and pulled it right out.)

This entry was posted in Metabloggish, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Real zipper-zappers

  1. The MomB says:

    Too bad about the hairstyle; it is very pretty and adorable.
    And the zipper-zappers–well, I really think I need a few of those. I am going to turn a few nearby items into pretend zipper-zappers, because I think pretend zipper-zappering is very useful and therapeutic. Thanks, Hazel.

  2. Karen Baird says:

    She is as beautiful as she is creative and clever. How I love this little lady and her family.

  3. Rachel M says:

    Super cute. The story and the girl!

Leave a Reply

