All the places

Hazel wanted to try on some clip earrings the other day. She usually keeps them on for 2 minutes before she gets tired of them.

This morning after I got back from physical therapy* I decided I really needed a nap, and I talked Hazel into pretending to be my teddy bear so I could snuggle with her. She actually held somewhat still, but kept up a constant prattle the whole time. Here’s some of what she told me:


I had been reminding Dean about a Sesame Street Ernie and Bert sketch, and she said, “We have a Ernie stuffed animal in our stuffed animal box!”

I said, “Yeah, we have an Ernie doll.”

“It’s not a doll, it’s just a Ernie.”

She said, “Our house doesn’t have any places, it’s just a house. But it doesn’t have any places, like Seven Peaks [water park]. I wish our house was great, great big, and it had all the places. But that’s just pretend. It doesn’t make any sense. Really our house is just a house.”

*(Yes, I’m still going to physical therapy three mornings a week. I get up at 6:15 so I can get there by 7:00, in time to be one of the first patients seen, and I’m usually home before 8:00. I’m really tired of getting up early, but although I’ve got most of my mobility back, there’s still some stiffness in my wrist when I bend it, and ideally if I persist we’ll be able to get rid of even that stiffness.)

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to All the places

  1. Karen Baird says:

    You have absolutely beautiful children!!!!!

Leave a Reply

