Hazel, attorney-at-law

Hazel asked, “Mom, can I have one of those ice cream things?”

“An ice cream bar? Yes, but you have to eat your lunch first.”

A few minutes later Hazel told me, “Mom, I finished my lunch. Can I have an ice cream now?”

“You ate your lunch?”

“No, I threw it away.”

“You can’t throw it away! You have to eat it. Now go get it out of the garbage and eat it, and then you can have the ice cream.”

“Mom, did you have lunch yet?”

“No. I’m going to in a little while.”

“Okay. I’ll get my lunch out of the garbage, and you can eat it.”

(You guys, Hazel is THREE. THREE YEARS OLD. And outwitting her mom.) (Although, to be fair, I am kind of dumb sometimes.)

A baby doll holding a baby doll (the smaller doll is wearing a hair bauble as a necklace, for a fashion show).

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hazel, attorney-at-law

  1. the MomB says:

    I wouldn’t exactly say she outwitted you–unless you forgot to say, “OK–and then I’ll eat your ice cream thing too.” But her brain-power is amazing, and clearly she’s going to keep you on your toes–for years and years, I am sure. She wouldn’t even have to outwit me, though. I’d take one look at that face and say, “Honey, do you want an ice cream thing?” Thank Heaven I’m her grandma and not her mother.

    • zstitches says:

      The part where I felt outwitted was when she asked me if I’d had lunch yet and I didn’t even see her next offer coming. šŸ™‚ And it’s very hard not to spoil her, yes.

      Today I read her How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Henry chose it) and it took *forever*. For part of it she insisted on repeating all the words after me, and sometimes she just wanted to stop and discuss a page in detail, and at one point she had to go look at our mountains to see if they had as much snow on them as Mt. Crumpit did.

  2. Jillybean says:

    She’s a clever one! And extremely cute!

Leave a Reply

