I just found my kindred spirit on Wikipedia

This is one of those posts that is more like a facebook update, but it is a little too long for that, and maybe also too life-changing.

I just Googled the word “jabanero” to see if it needed a tilde over the “n,” (it doesn’t) and from there I was directed to this Wikipedia article on hyperforeignisms.

I immediately scrolled to the French section to see if it included the word whose English pronunciation has annoyed me for as long as I’ve known any French. And there it was. To quote from the article:

The “queen of the hyperforeignisms” is the word lingerie.

I’m pretty much in love with the person who wrote that.

P.S. The reason I was looking up the spelling of jabanero is, you don’t want to know. But I’ll tell you anyway. It’s because of this most-excellent pun I made up:

If you want to buy a hat made out of very hot peppers, go to a habanerodashery.

To conclude, here are some bunnies trying to catch a little girl. Maybe they are trying to save her from eating hot peppers. Or maybe she already ate some, and they are trying to drag her to a pond of cool water, to quench her pepper-burned cheeks.

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, Me thinking about stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I just found my kindred spirit on Wikipedia

  1. NotMolly says:

    I think you’re funny, too. Not everyone appreciates a good pun that blends peppers and old-fashioned mercantile-type words. I do.

  2. betsyhuntington says:

    YES! YES! YES! That wikipedia article filled me with joy duh veevray; oh how I hates me that lawnjeray.
    You say my pitchers are dishTURBing, and then you always use them. Maybe those dear bunnies are trying to save the dear child from a too hot hat.

  3. Stephen says:

    I’ve never heard *lingerie* correctly pronounced. I suppose that’s because I don’t recall ever hearing the word used when I lived in France.

Leave a Reply

