Potty talker (Dean may be scandalized with me for publishing this) (but my mom won’t) (what I’m getting at is that this post does contain potty talk–consider yourself warned)

Rose asked me, “Mom, will you do my ponytails before my soccer game?”

“Yes. Why don’t you come stand in front of the mirror in the bathroom? But wait just a minute. First I need to pee.”

“Mom! You weren’t in the bathroom yet when you said that, so you broke our rule! No potty-talking unless you’re in the bathroom!”

A  bit later I said, “Okay, I can do your hair now.”

“So did you already P-E-E?”

I said, “The thing about trying to spell that word instead of saying it, is that by the time you get to the first letter, you’ve already said the word.”

Rose laughed. “Oh, yeah. So you have to be in the bathroom even if you spell it.”

I suggested, “You could say, ‘Did you urinate yet?’ Urine means pee, and urinating means peeing.”

“Oh. But–you’d still have to be in the bathroom when you say that!”

(Fortunately, we were already standing in the bathroom at this point, so I didn’t break any more rules. And Rose will have a more versatile vocabulary.)

(I looked for a random image of a bunny for this post, and this one seemed to fit.)

This entry was posted in I think I'm not funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Potty talker (Dean may be scandalized with me for publishing this) (but my mom won’t) (what I’m getting at is that this post does contain potty talk–consider yourself warned)

  1. the MomB says:

    Of course your mom won’t. I loved the story–and I always love it when you use a graphic I’ve sent you, especially one as wonderful as this, one of my (admittedly many) favorites. I believe this is by the famous and prolific illustrator Charles Twelvetrees. Here’s another one for you:
    Baby and bunny clutching each other C. Twelvetrees

    Perhaps Rose and Dean will both be scandalized by how the letter *P* is spelled:
    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_do_you_spell_the_letters_of_the_alphabet

  2. the MomB says:

    Oh golly: http://www.flickr.com/photos/katinthecupboard/5708489894/sizes/l/in/photostream/
    This “katinthecupboard” is a treasure trove. Trying to save the images from the original display doesn’t work, but if you right click on them and then choose a size, you can save the image you choose. All in the public domain.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/katinthecupboard/

  3. the MomB says:

    (Right click on them after you’ve chosen/clicked on one from her site, I mean, of course.)

  4. zstitches says:

    My goodness. What a lot of mean rabbits.

  5. Jbug says:

    The picture (and post) reminds me of running down the Y with Henry to get to the bathroom. Yikes.

  6. rachel says:

    ha ha! we used to have that same rule in our house, too!

Leave a Reply

