How to allow me and other Firefox users to comment on your Blogspot blog–a PSA for my cousin Betsy and others using the Embedded Comments option

July 2012 update: Whatever was causing the problem has finally been fixed, and I can now comment on blogs that use the embedded comment box. Yay!

In spite of the wordiness of this post, scroll to the end and you’ll see that the solution’s quick-and-easy.

This is something I’ve been meaning to address for some time now, but since it involved logging into my old abandoned Bloger blog and taking screenshots, it’s taken me a while to get to it. But it’s Oh! So! Important! At least, it is if you care about me and other Mozilla Firefox users, and want us to be able to comment on your blog.

So, here’s the deal. A lot of you, when you set up your blogs, chose an embedded comment format for comments. But what you don’t know is that, for some reason I haven’t been able to discover, people who use Mozilla Firefox–or who have some configuration like what I have on my computer–will NOT be able to comment in that comment box. They will write their comment, click “post,” and everything they wrote will disappear. Try and try again, their comment WILL NOT POST.

Here’s a screenshot of what the “embedded comments” box looks like:

This form does NOT like me. When I see it, I give up and go away silently.

I used to be able to work around this by opening Windows Explorer, which I would only do if I were extremely motivated to make a comment. But now even that won’t work, so maybe there’s also some other setting on my computer that’s keeping embedded comments from working for me. But at any rate, I’ve discovered, from Googling, that a) I’m NOT the only one with this problem, and b) nobody knows a solution.

So, if you’d like me and my kind to still be able to come say nice things to you on your blog, here’s the simple fix:

1. Log into your blog’s dashboard.

2. Click on “Settings,” and then on the “Comments” tab.

3. Under “Comment Form Placement,” you’ll see three options: Full page, Pop-up window, and Embedded below post. “Embedded below post” is the one you DO NOT WANT (if you love me). Choose one of the other options.

You’re done!

This entry was posted in Tutorial. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to How to allow me and other Firefox users to comment on your Blogspot blog–a PSA for my cousin Betsy and others using the Embedded Comments option

  1. Lili says:

    It might be time to switch to Google Chrome. (You can use both). I resisted for a long time b/c it wasn’t all that great for the Mac. But then I did. And I almost never use firefox anymore. Just sayin’… ;-P

    • zstitches says:

      I’d have to export all my bookmarks. And learn my way around. I hate change.

      • the MomB says:

        Sigh, that is what stops me too. I had to use Chrome for a bit when Firefox was acting up (it was a Windows problem, if I understood Spencer correctly). I could see that it’s superior generally, and after all, Chrome was working when Firefox wouldn’t, but I don’t know how to import my bookmarks, and I was befuddled searching for the options I’m accustomed to using on Firefox. Perhaps my answer will be to use Chrome occasionally till I get used to it….

Leave a Reply

