If I have ADD, blame my mother

I’m not sure why I haven’t mustered the energy to tell the whole story of my wrist-breaking here on my blog yet. It’s in snippets on Facebook and I’ve told lots of people in person–wait, actually, that’s probably the reason. It’s hard to find energy to put things in writing that you’ve already said out loud, lots of times. So for now, suffice it to say that yes, it still hurts, I hate being impaired, and yes, you can send me homemade treats if you absolutely must. But our neighbors have been taking great care of us, and while I’m having to accept a much slower pace in a lot of ways, all the necessary stuff–kids getting to and from school, family being fed–is going ahead just fine.

But here’s a story from before I broke my wrist. We were having a retirement party for my mom at my house the week before Christmas. (She retired after working many years at our local library.) My mom had shown up late for the party–I’d accurately guessed that she would be finishing up making Christmas stickers for the grandkids from vintage images, since I’d heard her mention she wanted to do that–but once she showed up, we played “After the Manner of the Adverb.” If you haven’t played, it’s a game where one person leaves the room, and the remaining players choose an adverb. Then the person comes back and asks various people to do tasks, and they have to do them while acting out the chosen adverb.

When my mom left the room, we chose “distractedly.” She returned, and after a couple of clues hadn’t quite guessed the word. We were waiting for her to call on someone else when she turned, pointed at a Christmas banner hanging up in my living room, and said, “Oh! I hadn’t noticed that yet!”

That’s right, my mom acted out her own clue.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If I have ADD, blame my mother

  1. the MomB says:

    What’s really embarrassing, which is why I haven’t mentioned it before, is that the reason I wasn’t terribly concerned about being late for the party (and here’s where our recent realization that I have ADD–which explains so many things–comes in) was that, even tho’ we had talked about it explicitly and in detail, I’d forgotten that the party was for me. I was pleased yet baffled when everyone greeted me so extra-warmly, and then when y’all sang “For she’s a jolly good…”, it slowly started to dawn on me. I just didn’t have the guts to admit it. What a grand party it was, though. It made me very happy.

  2. Thora says:

    I love the comments – they add so much to the post 🙂 I played In the Manner of the Adverb all of the time in college at BYU, and I loved it to death – It was my favorite party game ever. I always thought (not having played or heard of it since) that somehow the rest of the world must not play it, or that once you were out of college you had to pretend to be a real grownup or something, but you’ve given me new hope that I’ll be able to convince large groups of people to play it with me again. Also, I love that she acted out her own adverb.

    • zstitches says:

      I think it might have been my sister Mary who reintroduced the game to our family recently. It’s a great game to play with a group that has a variety of ages, because you can choose easier adverbs when young kids go out of the room.

  3. Jen says:

    This is wildly amusing. I need to play that game again. It has been too long.

    Also, I second that emotion on the comments. Haha!

Leave a Reply

