More shrink plastic dollhouse plates–Franciscan Coronado

My girls were excited about these because we eat off of life-sized versions of the turquoise ones. I forgot to brighten these before printing them, so I’m going to try a new set tomorrow to get the nice pastel colors. (In a rare reversal, these photos look better than the real-life plates.)

I think I burned my left thumb a little while I was making these, but I can’t tell because my thumb is numb.

(Instructions are in the previous post.)

This entry was posted in Creative miscellany, Kid Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More shrink plastic dollhouse plates–Franciscan Coronado

  1. the MomB says:

    And since your instructions are on your blog, I will ask here, as I did on fb, what dollhouse sized dish(es) you used as molds for these? Because these look perfectly like Franciscan ware.

    • zstitches says:

      Do you want me to answer here, or on FB? šŸ™‚

      We couldn’t find a mold that fits these–we had one plate with a rim, but the rim was much wider than on the Franciscan plates. So we just used a plate that has a slight curvature but no rim. I’ve been trying to think what someone could use if they didn’t have a dollhouse dish already, and Dean thought maybe the end of a broom handle would work (but I haven’t tried it yet). Or maybe a ping-pong ball?

      The reason you see a rim is because there’s one in the photo I used for the template. These actually do that optical illusion thing where they alternately look concave or convex depending on how you look at them.

  2. Kristina P. says:

    Those really are amazing. And fun.

  3. Jen says:

    I am loving these posts. Such a fun idea.

  4. turha luulo says:

    Great work! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

