Halloween 2011

I wouldn’t have guessed it would take me over a week to put up the rest of the photos of my kids’ Halloween costumes–but since I pretty much spent Halloween following my kids around all day, taking pictures, there were a lot of photos to weed through.

Rose said at school people kept mistaking her for Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz. I guess the gingham of her top threw them off (even though Dorothy’s gingham is a much larger blue check). I’m only just now realizing, looking at these photos, that the basket and wolf puppet probably added to the confusion.

I don’t think Henry had any idea that the crest on his tunic was Takanuva, the Toa of Light. Also, this shows me how much my Photoshop skills have improved since I made this costume for Ike, when I had to ask Dean to create the iron-on graphic. I also wondered why I hadn’t used a dark fabric for the tunic, until I remembered that I didn’t used to be able to get printable iron-on transfer paper for dark fabrics.

Rose’s class performed a bunch of cute Halloween songs for the parents, and I can’t believe I haven’t yet learned how to put videos on my blog. (But I won’t be figuring it out this morning.)

Hazel’s orange top is on loan to us from my sister Mary, who made it for her daughter. Hazel hadn’t wanted to put her costume on yet, but she got lots of attention at school all the same. Other people seem to find Hazel as irresistible as I do.

Isaac took Henry and Hazel trick-or-treating. He brought Hazel back much sooner than Henry, so later I asked Hazel if she wanted to knock on a few more doors, and she said she did want to. So I took her to a nearby cul-de-sac, and by then it had gotten dark, but every time I asked Hazel if she wanted to go home, she’d say, “No! I want to locking one more door!” After she’d said, “Trick-or-Treat” and had been given candy, I’d prompt her, “Now what do you say?” and she’d say, “Thank you. Trick-or-Treat. Bye.” And then she’d stand there some more, chatting up the neighbors, unless I coaxed her away. Halloween must be the only time you take a child to a neighbor’s door, wait for them to answer, and then almost immediately leave.

A half-block from home Hazel finally nearly gave out. I had asked to take her photo, and she sat down on the neighbors’ lawn and seemed like she might never stand up again. But with a bit more coaxing (and by carrying her part of the way) I got her back home. By then she had dirt and leaves matted in her fur–but she was as happy as only a kid with a bucket full of candy can be.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Halloween 2011

  1. Kayli says:

    Super super cute- I love all the costumes. Halloween is the best!

  2. Jason says:

    The narrative is as enjoyable as the pics are adorable–and the pics are mightily adorable. Thanks!

  3. Kristina P. says:

    Of course she is a bunny! They all look awesome.

    • zstitches says:

      A lamb. πŸ™‚ I made this for Rose when her favorite toy was a stuffed lamb. But we do have a bunny costume, commissioned by Mabel quite a while ago, that Hazel will grow into soon.

  4. I love you. I love you. I love you. I love you. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  5. marymary says:

    Please don’t bother changing it in your post, but although I made a couple of Halloween skirts from tea towels (that Ellen wore this year) when Jane and Zuzu were little, I actually made that dress from a fabric remnant. I would have bought more of it if they’d had it. The length of the sleeves was precisely determined by the size of the remnant, and I suppose in that way it was remarkably like sewing from a tea towel. πŸ™‚

    • zstitches says:

      πŸ™‚ It’s all mom’s fault. The other day she told me you’d made it from tea towels; before that I’d never thought it. Anyway, it’s utterly adorable and we’re enjoying it greatly.

  6. Sue M says:

    The LAMB. So cute – my eyeballs are melting.

  7. jenlinmin says:

    Your kids look fabulous, as always! You are amazing, Zina! It’s interesting how many Where’s Waldos we saw this year. Any insight on the revival of this character this year?

    • zstitches says:

      No idea! Ike came up with the idea on his own, and when he told me about it a couple of months ago, it was easy to find one to order online. I think he was a little disappointed to be one of several Waldos we saw on Halloween. (But he sure makes a good one.)

Leave a Reply

