Glitter containment protocol

Recently I bought Rose a pair of shoes coated in glitter. She used to have a similar pair that dropped glitter everywhere she walked, so to prevent that happening again, I used a paintbrush to apply a thick coat of waterproof decoupage medium to the shoes, then left them to dry overnight. They have held up much better than her previous pair of shoes, and they don’t seem to shed glitter much at all.

Similarly, I bought several pairs of fairy wings at the dollar store for my kids to use as dress-ups, but when I got them home I didn’t even want to take them out of the bag because super-fine glitter was rubbing off them onto everything. I got some glitter on my hands and it wouldn’t even wash off easily. But since I liked the wings and they were cheap, I asked Dean to coat them with spray-shellac for me. We used some spray decoupage medium when we ran out of shellac. Both methods appear to be keeping the glitter much more securely on the wings.

This entry was posted in Kid Crafts, Tutorial and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Glitter containment protocol

  1. An unanticipated side benefit of spraying the wings is that the fairies will fly much better.

  2. Jen says:

    You are foiling their evil plan to make you buy these things over and over again. Way to stick it to the man!

Leave a Reply

