Halloween Greetings (a post of fall foliage and cheerful childhood chatter)


This is where we live. (It’s a few miles up the road from where we live, anyway.) While I was aiming the camera, Dean said “Less sky, more color.” Uh, okay. The above was my second attempt, following his instructions.


The golden aspen leaves caught in the pines made them look like Christmas trees–but it was hard to get a good photo from the car.

You end up with a lot of photos that look like this when you don’t get out of the car.

While getting Hazel dressed one morning, I told her, “I love you more than money. I love you more than gold!”

Looking at my nightgown, she answered, “I love you more than your buttons.”


Three kids looking anywhere but at the camera

Rose was sick after church on Sunday. By evening she said she felt all better, but at 3 AM she was sick again. While we were getting her cleaned up and changing her sheets, Rose told me, “I might not be able to go to school tomorrow.”

“You definitely won’t go to school tomorrow,” I answered. “You need to rest so you can get better.”

“Mom, which is more important: resting, or learning?!”

“Resting! You can go to school every other day, but when you’re sick you need to get better.”

“Oh.”

This was a note I found that Rose and Mabel had passed back and forth during church:

Rose: “will you play animal church”

Mabel: “Possibly later. Remember, animals can’t really take the sacrement or have the priesthood, but we can use them to practice bearing testimonies or songs.”

Rose: “I know. I just need to know if you will play at home after church.”

Mabel: “Okay.”

Inspired by Amish friendship bread, Mabel and her friend created their own recipe for non-edible “friendship mud.” They weren’t trying to be satirical. Here’s the recipe and instructions:

FRIENDSHIP MUD
A gift from a friend who wants you to have a little childhood again!
*Refrigerate this container until use.
1. Pour the contents of this container into a large bowl. Add some more dirt and water as you think is necessary. You can also add other experimental substances (soap, juice, etc.)!
2. Play with your mud! Remember all those years back? Make mud pies, handprints, face masks, or anything else you want. Have fun – invite family and friends to play with you!
3. When you feel you’ve had enough fun, wash off and find two disposable containers. Pour the remaining mud equally into both and cover the top with saran wrap or aluminum foil. Label containers “friendship mud”.
4. Make 2 sets of these instructions. To get the PDF for printing, send an email with the subject “Friendship Mud PDF” to [redacted]. You should receive the file within 24 hours. You can also write them onto a separate piece of paper.
5. Send your friendship mud, along with the instructions, to 2 friends so they can experience what you did!

Mabel found Hazel looking at a comic book and saying to herself, “And it came to pass . . . and it came to pass . . . ”


This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Halloween Greetings (a post of fall foliage and cheerful childhood chatter)

  1. So glad you got to do the Timp loop at its prime! Great photos!

  2. Acheté says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  3. I have often wondered if my kids think the scriptures are those same words…..

  4. Sue M says:

    I just love Mabel. Your kids are so charming and funny.

    Utah is so gorgeous in the fall. I think I’ve taken about 90 bajillion pictures of the mountains in the last week. I’m sure it will make for a SCINTILLATING blog post soon. (Er, not that yours wasn’t scintillating.)

    (Hmmm. I’m not actually sure that I know what scintillating means.)

    • zstitches says:

      Yeah, sometimes I go for scintillating and other times I just want to try to slap up some photos and get stuff my kids said written down before I forget it. (Like, um, about 97% of the time that’s my goal, these days.)

    • zstitches says:

      Also:
      scin·til·lat·ing
      adjective
      1. animated; vivacious; effervescent: a scintillating personality.
      2. witty; brilliantly clever: a scintillating conversationalist; a play full of scintillating dialogue.

      I’ll admit I aspire to #2. And I think my kids attain it pretty often.

Leave a Reply

