We think we’re funny

Since the beginning of 5th grade, Mabel’s been attending an accelerated program at a magnet school. She has always enjoyed the program, but missed our neighborhood school and felt more loyal to it than to her new school. Tonight, though, she told me that now, at the beginning of sixth grade, she’s grown to love her current school. She told me, “I like its simple homeliness.” (She wasn’t trying to be funny–but I loved her turn of phrase.)

Last Monday I took all the kids to the dentist after school, and then we went to the PTA fundraiser carnival at Mabel’s school. This afternoon I took all the kids for flu shots, then we attended the fundraiser carnival at Rose and Henry’s school. On the way to get the flu shots I told the kids, “I know I should be brave about attending the carnival, but I just can’t help it–I HATE going to carnivals! It hurts SO MUCH! I just can’t wait to get it over with!”

Mabel said, “That’s not funny, Mom.”

“Yes it is. It’s very funny.”

“You’re not the judge of what’s funny.”

“Actually, I am. I am an expert on what’s funny.”

At the carnival, I told Dean, “The difference between this and TV, is if this carnival were on TV, there would be a plot.”

“There would be drama?”

“Yeah. Like two parents would be in a contest over something, or some kids would beat up another kid behind the school.”

“Or there would be terrorists.”

“Oh. Yeah, I guess.”

There was a pretty long line for pizza at the carnival, and the barbecue dinners were all sold out, so we decided to take the kids out for dinner afterward instead. Dean and I wanted to go to our favorite barbecue place, but the kids whined that they didn’t like that place very much, and they talked us into going somewhere else. Dean said to me, “They’re so spoiled. They shouldn’t have so many opinions about which restaurants they like.”

“I know. When I was a kid I just felt lucky if we went out to eat at all.”

Dean agreed. “They should be saying, ‘Yay! Anything!'”

At the restaurant, Isaac kept leaving a little army man that he’d won at the carnival on the table, trying to pretend someone else had left it there. (I wasn’t fooled. Mabel was.) Finally I grabbed the army man and pretended to stick its head in hot sauce, saying, “Now will you talk?”

Ike said, “That’s probably not sanitary.”

I said, “It’s not germy, it’s just really hot.”

Ike said, “The army guy probably has a lot of germs on him.”

Laughing, I said, “Oh! I thought you meant the hot sauce was germy. I wasn’t even thinking about the army guy.”

At dinner the kids were also talking about  “Little Eugene,” which I knew was some inside joke they had with Dean, but I didn’t know the details. Dean said, “There was a little Lego man next to the Rapunzel Barbie one day, so I picked him up and said, ‘It’s Little Eugene!'” (Eugene is Rapunzel’s romantic interest in Tangled.) Dean continued, “At first the kids were annoyed, but then they got to liking it and now they always want me to do Little Eugene. And I make him say to Rapunzel, ‘Let down your hair!'”

This was Mabel’s prizewinning entry for the cake decorating contest at her school’s carnival last week–cupcake sliders with sugar cookie fries. When she had asked me if she could make a cake, I’d said, “Only if I don’t have to help.” She said, “Of course not! It says right here in the rules that the students have to make the cakes all by themselves!” “Oh! Great! Absolutely you can, then!”

This entry was posted in But Dean is the funniest, I think I'm funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to We think we’re funny

  1. Jason says:

    Is there anything Mabel can’t do? She’s an accomplished person.

  2. the MomB says:

    This post is so rich that I can’t think where to begin responding. But I must say I’m grateful to *Tangled*, naming the hero Eugene (it’s a family name on the Rondot line, and of course one of Grandpa (or Great-grandpa, as the case may be) Hall’s brothers is Eugene).

  3. marymary says:

    That’s funny that Mabel thinks of the magnet school as having simple homeliness. Jane thinks of it as a huge and impersonal place, with too many different programs going on. She’s been saying over the last week that she thinks she should go back to her local school. (Eek.) It is true that at her local school the principal stands by the front doors and greets each child by name as they come in for school in the morning. It’s hard to get more personal than that. She wore her school t-shirt from her old school today and I had to wonder if she was making a statement.

    • zstitches says:

      Mabel wore her OES shirt a lot in 5th grade. I wonder if Mabel’s new attitude might rub off on Jane if they talked about it. I have a feeling Jane would find the classroom instruction pretty tedious at her old school, especially by next year, but it’s true that it’s nice to go somewhere that feels welcoming. And I have to admit I’m pretty indignant that Mabel’s and Jane’s petition about the recess schedule has just been ignored. I keep thinking maybe I should take up the matter and make myself impossible to ignore. (Sigh.)

      • zstitches says:

        Update Oct 2: Mabel was just reading this and tells me I’m mistaken: She NEVER wore her old school’s shirt to her new school–because she was afraid people would get mad at her or be offended. But she wore it all the time on Saturdays. (That’s probably what I was remembering.)

    • zstitches says:

      Oh, and also last year Mabel and a few of her OES friends would congregate in a corner at recess and sing their old school songs.

  4. Wow! at her cake project. So cool. And I totally agree with the conversation about kids having a say about restaurants. I feel the same way.

  5. Jessica G. says:

    How have I not read your blog before? There is much awesomeness contained within.

    • zstitches says:

      Thank you! And to answer your question, clearly my marketing department is asleep on the job. I went and looked at your blog and had been there before, so I think that means you win. Or anyway your marketing department wins.

  6. Lili says:

    I think you’re (all) funny, too. “Yay! Anything!” lol

Leave a Reply

