What they’re teaching in the schools these days

You guys, I’m a GENIUS.

Henry’s home from his sixth day of kindergarten, and he was holding a pencil and paper and asked, “Mom, what’s that letter that’s kind of like S but it’s not S?”

I said I had no idea. “What did you want to write?”

“Wait, actually it is S!,” he says. A minute later he adds, “At school we’re doing that thing where the gingerbread man ran away and we’re trying to find him and we made a sign.” He shows me a paper that has the letters “OST” on it and asks me what it says.

“It says ‘OST,” I answer.

“Oh.” He looks a little disappointed.

“Did you want it to say ‘LOST?'” I ask.

“Yeah! That’s it! That’s what the sign said!”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What they’re teaching in the schools these days

  1. the MomB says:

    “…kind of like S but it’s not S,” ha ha ha, priceless.
    When I was in kindergarten, I wrote something at home (just the alphabet, I think) in which I had the S backwards. My mother tried to correct me, but I firmly insisted, “That’s how Mrs. Fox makes esses!” My mom was fond of reminding me of that incident.
    Of course it’s true, you are a genius.

Leave a Reply

