This post has four photos of curtains. What? It’s my blog, I can do what I want, you’re not the boss of me.

Ike and Henry have had to make do with a black shower curtain draped over their curtain rod for, um, over two years now. No more! Sewing these curtain panels took the better part of my day, and I listened to at least three episodes of This American Life on my iPod. Maybe four.

These were made from a piece of Finnish fabric Dean brought me several years ago. Since I used another piece of Finnish fabric for the circle skirts I made for the girls a couple weeks ago, it’s funny to me that both pieces sat in stash for so long and then met such different fates. (I think I have two more Finnish pieces. Both are small cuts with large-scale cartoon drawings on them, and I have no idea what I’ll do with them.) After I had trimmed the ends of this piece to straighten them, I used every last bit of it. It was satisfying that it was a perfect amount of yardage.

I like how the fabric goes so well with the ocean in Ike’s Legend of Zelda poster. šŸ™‚

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This post has four photos of curtains. What? It’s my blog, I can do what I want, you’re not the boss of me.

  1. Sarah C says:

    Looks great! The curtains + zelda poster juxtaposition is pleasing indeed.

    I actually went to JoAnn’s yesterday to look at fabrics for making curtains, but left without getting anything because I was totally paralyzed by indecision. I think I’ll just wait until my mom’s in town again before I get anything done in the home decorating arena, because she’s good at helping me make decisions.

    The first photo is very artsy — I like the way the light shines through. šŸ™‚

  2. zstitches says:

    “Paralyzed by indecision” is my usual decorating style. šŸ™‚

  3. the MomB says:

    These turned out great–I like them so much! And yes, the curtains look like they were made to go with the painting. Also, for the decor to suit two brothers 9 years apart is pretty fantastic.

  4. Jen says:

    I think the title of this post sounds like you have a lot of children around you all the time, and you have learned to speak their dialect.

    Very handsome curtains.

Leave a Reply

