All jokes will be given equal consideration

Me: “What did the guy say when he saw three deep holes in the ground? ‘Well, well, well.'”

Ike laughs.

Me: “I know an old poem, too. ‘A doctor fell into a well, and broke his collar bone. The moral: Doctor, mind the sick, and leave the well alone.'”

Ike laughs.

Dean, teasing: “How do you know all these things?”

Me: “I’m a–what’s that word that means someone’s not very picky?”

Dean: “Undiscriminating?”

Me: “I’m an undiscriminating collector of jokes.”

(P.S. Here’s another old poem: “The horse bit his master. How came this to pass? He heard the good pastor say ‘All flesh is grass.'” Thank you, Golden Book of Poetry. Oh and another: “Swans sing before they die. ‘Twere no bad thing, should certain persons die before they sing.”)

This entry was posted in I think I'm not funny. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to All jokes will be given equal consideration

  1. marymary says:

    A centipede was happy quite,
    Until a frog in fun
    Said, “Pray, which leg comes after which?”
    This raised her mind to such a pitch,
    She lay distracted in the ditch
    Considering how to run.

  2. zstitches says:

    And then of course there’s my all-time favorite, an epitaph:

    Here lies John Bunn.
    He was killed by a gun.
    His name was not Bunn, but Wood,
    But Wood would not rhyme with gun, and Bunn would.

  3. Jason says:

    EOJ…Equal-Opportunity Jokester

  4. the MomB says:

    You KNOW I LOVE THESE. I will spare you the awful jokes that still make me lol, and for the sake of nostalgia and passing along good things to the next generation, just quote one of my favorite verses:

    I met a little Elf-man, once,
    Down where the lilies blow.
    I asked him why he was so small
    And why he didn’t grow.
    He slightly frowned, and with his eye
    He looked me through and through.
    “I’m quite as big for me,” said he,
    “As you are big for you.”
    –John Kendrick Bangs (Yes, the poem has an author; and I love names that are sentences.)

  5. Lili says:

    “duplicate comment detected, it looks as though you already said that!” I guess wordpress doesn’t like me to “like” multiple comments.

Leave a Reply

