Salvage

This project started out as a kids’ tee shirt with a faded, cracked iron-on transfer that I wanted to cover, and a top I had sewn for myself. I hadn’t loved the way the top fit me, but I did love the fabric, so I had kept it to cut down for a skirt for one of my girls. I had some other scraps of the fabric, too.

The funny thing was that although I had just enough fabric for a skirt for Rose and a skirt for Hazel, the shirt was too small for Rose and too big for Hazel.

Oh, well. At least Hazel pulls off the oversized-shirt look pretty well. And maybe she’ll have grown into Rose’s skirt by the time the shirt fits her better.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Salvage

  1. Trina says:

    That is wonderful fabric, and the “salvage” looks great!

  2. Stephen says:

    When I read the title “Salvage” and realized the post was about sewing, I thought you had misspelled the word. Smirk.

    • the MomB says:

      No wonder, you smarty-pants old home sewer (no kidding, that’s how they refer to us now– the kind of P.C. that drives me crazy) you. We were lucky to grow up with a mother who was such an extraordinary seamster. The most beautiful shirts Stephen’s ever had are probably the ones he made himself, but whereas I don’t really enjoy the process of sewing, I think he genuinely hates it. But he can do it–and beautifully.

Leave a Reply

