Stars and stripes forever

At our neighborhood “Cul-de-sac of Fire” 4th of July party, a young man who lives across the street was trying to finance a trip to India by selling raffle tickets for a quilt made by his grandmother. Before I knew what she had done, Rose had spent all her savings (including long-term-savings that she’s not supposed to spend) on tickets, so we renegotiated–I bought some tickets (in MY name) and she got back two-thirds of what she had spent.

Then the grandmother offered to make a 2nd quilt, and when the raffle tickets were drawn, Rose won that 2nd quilt. The party was the night before we left for Washington and when we got home the quilt was ready and waiting for her.

LUCKY LUCKY LUCKY LUCKY!

It’s all pieced, (not a cheater quilt) with OH I KNOW WHAT THEY’RE CALLED BUT CAN’T THINK OF IT a pretty pointy edging, and nice machine quilting. It’s a really nice quilt.

(Oh, prairie points–is that what they’re called?)

Rose says she won because of her toy dog named Lucky.  I hope she won’t come to rely too much on Lucky’s powers.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Stars and stripes forever

  1. hthalljr says:

    Wonderful photos. Thanks.

  2. Jason says:

    Nice quilt! Feeling lucky can be good training for feeling grateful.

    • zstitches says:

      In all seriousness, I had a friend whose grown son lost his family, home, and everything to a gambling addiction. She said something like that you should never tell your kids they won something through luck or talk about feeling lucky. So I do think of that when I use the word . . . although I doubt Rose is in danger of a gambling addiction.

      • the MomB says:

        While I certainly understand your friend’s reaction to the concept of luck, I doubt that never talking about luck or being lucky would prevent a gambling addiction. Isn’t that like saying never talking about drugs will prevent drug addictions, or never talking about sex will prevent unchastity, etc.? I suppose we should never talk about what we’re planning to have for dinner, in order to prevent overeating. Isn’t the idea to talk about what luck truly means or implies, rather than to never admit one has sometimes been lucky?

  3. the MomB says:

    That is stupendous luck. I think it may have something to do with the leprechaun birthday of hers.

  4. Virginia Wood says:

    Rose, What a beautiful quilt for a beautiful girl! That was a “lucky” break.

    When I was about 14 I entered a Singer sewing contest, made a red wool suit and I won a portable phonograph record player. What I learned from that was that good luck can come when you work hard at learning something and have the “good luck” to be chosen as the best of something for your efforts.

    When I was in my thirties, I entered a “name this cow” competition for a local florist. I named the cow Cowlendula (for Calendula flowers) and won a $50 gift certificate to buy flowers at their store. That was just happenstance. I thought of a good idea, and they thought my idea was better than anyone else who entered the contest.

    I think those kind of “lucky” breaks come once in a good while. The best kind of luck is the kind you create through good deeds, hard work, and the blessings that come from Heavenly Father by doing what is right. That’s the best good luck of all and it comes from good living! I know you will have many years of good luck from good living.

    Congratulations, Rose! You will enjoy that quilt for your whole life, I think.

  5. Virginia Wood says:

    Oh, Zina, FYI, Rose-Ellen showed me an online post to make prairie points using an amazing cutting technique and a long strip of fabric. Of course they have to all be the same color, but it is one continuous strip and folding/cutting oragami-type technique. I can’t remember the link, but if you google strip prairie points, you can probably find it. It cuts the time spent on that edging enormously!

    Aunt Ginger

    • zstitches says:

      Although I admire quilts, currently I’m more into sewing clothing for my littl’uns while they’re still little–but hopefully I’ll remember to search for that technique when I do get to the prairie-point stage of my sewing life. 🙂 Thanks for the tip.

  6. Jen says:

    Prairie, Pioneer, or Picot. I have composed a tutorial on that very method on both of my blogs in the past. She is a very fortunate girl. I have grown resentful from all of the tickets for quilts I have bought as a guild member, and I am conscientiously objecting by not buying them this year.

Leave a Reply

