Ah, youth

[Note: I’m on vacation, which feels weird to say on my blog because usually I’m careful not to say when I’m out of town, but since my kids are being cared for at my home by grandparents, I think it’s fine to admit I’m not there with them. Dean’s at a professional conference here in Montreal, and I came along. It’s rainy, rainy, rainy, but at least we had a beautiful sunny weekend in Quebec City (the old part of Quebec) before heading back to Montreal.

Anyway, I just found this post I’d tucked into my drafts folder a week or so ago, so you get something to read even while I’m away.]

Mabel and her friend-who’s-a-boy-but-is-not-her-crush spent their time in math writing “poignant” (Mabel’s word) poems about the various unrequited crushes in their grade, using code names.

Mabel says I can transcribe one of the poems (this is hers, but her friend’s were similar):

There is a rose

A beautiful

red

rose

And there is a box

and an orange

And the rose

likes the box

and the orange

They are her friends

But the box cares

deeply

And now the rose

knows

And she is afraid

She wants to go with them

but

she has roots pulling her

down

down

down

She is confused

Afraid

The box

the orange

are sad

confused

The rose is afraid.

Mabel says she’s going to type up all the poems and give copies to her friend, so that when he’s older, “He can go, ‘Auugh! We were such idiots!'”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ah, youth

  1. Jason says:

    What is metaphor but encoding?

    Poignant, ha! Nice one Mabel.

  2. Zina: your kids are brilliant and hilarious (where do they get that?) I truly enjoy reading your quips and quotations from them. I hope you’re having fun on your trip, but in case you get bored at some point, check out my blog. This time it’s actually about sewing (which I know you love) so I thought you could relate (though you are much more accomplished than I!). Have fun! I hope it doesn’t rain the rest of the time. (This is my second attempt to “leave a comment” so if I accidentally did it wrong, I’m very sorry!)
    http://www.findingthejoyinmotherhood.blogspot.com

  3. Erin says:

    love it
    especially the last bit about idiots

  4. zstitches says:

    That wasn’t really the best poem, even. The best one was exploring the meaning of life. Poignantly.

    -Mabel

  5. Jason says:

    I would appreciate reading anything that any of your kids writes–poignant or otherwise.

Leave a Reply

