Superhero, supervillain, the main thing is to be Super

Henry and I were talking about superheroes and villains, and I discovered that he thinks Syndrome from The Incredibles is not a bad guy. I said, “Why do you think he’s a superhero?” “Because he’s really strong.” “But he tries to hurt people.” “No he doesn’t! He helps all the other people–he only tries to hurt the Incredibles.”

Logic is different when you’re four.

Henry created this set-up for a game he was playing with Rose, Mabel, and Mabel’s friend. He says the surrounding objects are his “bike accessories.” Henry works very hard at smiling for photos.

Update: But wait, there’s more. A few minutes ago Henry brought me a toy car wanting me to dislodge a tiny Buzz Lightyear Lego wing stuck in its innards. I set it aside for later since it looks like the car will have to be disassembled to get the part out. Minutes after that, he brought me a toy frosting container that had a piece of a toy wooden carrot firmly wedged in it. I said, “Boy, you’re just getting lots of things stuck in things today, aren’t you?” He said, “No,” and I said, “Oh, you didn’t do this one?” “I did do it, but I didn’t do it today.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Superhero, supervillain, the main thing is to be Super

  1. Stephen says:

    pure logic

  2. the MomB says:

    Honestly, and in complete honesty, and wholly truthfully, I don’t even know where or how to begin to express my adoration of this photograph. The story is also ineffably wonderful.

Leave a Reply

