Snips

Before:

After:

We had Mabel’s trimmed to get rid of all her split ends (which was about 3.5″ since it had been such a long time since her last trim) and the stylist also thinned her ends so they’ll hang nicely. Rose wanted a short, easy-care cut for summer, and she’s really happy with it. It looks even cuter than I was able to capture here.

Mabel and Rose also BOTH lost teeth on Sunday–Rose’s was a front bottom tooth, and Mabel’s was a molar. (The two girls’ birthdays are 13 days shy of 4 years apart.) Rose asked some pointed questions about the Tooth Fairy, and I gave some frank answers. Then Dean did his impersonation of the Tooth Fairy, which I would really love to have on film.

I never did get a really good photo of my new(ish) hair color, which is a shade or two darker than my natural color (or actually it’s the natural color of my darkest hair, near my nape) but as long as we were taking photos I decided to have Mabel snap one of me and tried to be satisfied with a medium-good photo. (It will be nice if I’m ever so free of vanity that I don’t make disclaimers about medium-good photos.)

I might go back to a blonder shade some time, because my gray roots, which grow SO fast, seem to blend better with a lighter color. But I do like this color.

Spring break is going pretty well. It’s extra work in some ways to have the kids home, plus I still have to do all my regular work (shucks) but I really do love having the kids around. I love it so much that I’m very, very tempted to home-school them, and I almost wish they didn’t have such fabulous teachers and good friends at school.

Speaking of education, here’s a little something I learned today: don’t let your daughter sit on your lap right after she’s had her hair cut. itch itch itch

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snips

  1. Jason says:

    I love these snip-of-life entries. (Your hair color is very nice.)

  2. Kristina P. says:

    I love the shorter do. I wish my hair could look like that!

  3. zstitches says:

    For what it’s worth, I wrote this post right before I left for a dinner at BYU with Dean this evening, and when I got home I saw that the photos of Mabel’s haircut had somehow gotten deleted (probably in a last-minute edit before I left). So now they’re back.

  4. Mrs. Organic says:

    I love the new color, it’s very pretty. I know what you mean about the grays showing up earlier.

Leave a Reply

