Easy microwave rice krispy treats

Several years ago for Mother’s Day the Primary asked the kids questions about their moms, including what was their favorite thing their mother cooked. Ike and Mabel both said rice krispy treats. I couldn’t decide whether to be embarrassed or proud. (I think these days I would just be proud that I “cooked” anything.)

Rose is supposed to bring a family recipe to class and since I typed this up for her I thought I might as well share it with you all while I’m at it.

Easy microwave rice krispy treats

This is a family-sized recipe and makes about 1.5 times as much as a regular recipe.

In a separate container, measure out 10 cups rice krispies.

Spray cooking spray in a 9×13 pan (for thick rice krispy treats) or a large jelly roll pan (for thinner ones).

In a LARGE microwave-safe bowl, melt 4T butter.

Stir in a 16-oz package of marshmallows.

Heat on high for about 3 minutes (until melted).

Add 2t vanilla.

Pour rice krispies into melted marshmallows and stir quickly.

Spread in pan. To smooth down, wet your hands or the back of a spoon with cold water, then press down firmly.

Allow to cool, slice, and enjoy!

(I have never made rice krispies into bunny shapes. (But one time we did dye them orange and shape them into a pumpkin for Halloween.) I was looking for a bunny image and found this at the Kellogg’s site. I would never make these because there’s too much delay in getting them into your mouth. If someone else made them, I would eat them–although I don’t really enjoy the flavor of construction paper.)

I just remembered that one year I did shape rice krispy treats into eggs by greasing the inside of a plastic egg and using it as a mold. That was also a waste of time (plus it didn’t really work very well).

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Easy microwave rice krispy treats

  1. Kristina P. says:

    Nom, nom, nom. I am also very sad that Blogger continues to eat your comments.

Leave a Reply

