Toddler whisperer

I’ll probably be having conversations like this one as long as I have young kids around:

“Hazel, what movie do you want to watch? A Bug’s Life?”

“No, no movie!”

“What about Rolie Polie Olie?”

“No!”

“Or Up?

“No movie! Me sleepy!”

“You’re sleepy? Do you want to take a nap?”

“NO NAP! Movie.”

Speaking of whispering, yesterday Hazel saw me whisper something to Mabel, and a couple minutes later Hazel grabbed my head and turned my ear towards her, then made unintelligible little puffs of vocalized air in that direction. So cute. (But later when I asked her to whisper something to Dean, she said, “No! No whisper Daddy!”)

And speaking of Up, I can’t watch even a tiny fraction of the beginning without having to watch the whole opening sequence.  “South America! It’s like America . . . but south! I ripped this page right out of a library book!” And I can’t watch the opening sequence without crying. I also keep thinking “Just finish reading the scrapbook, Carl!” But that makes the ending of the movie all the sweeter. Good ol’ Pixar.

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc., My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Toddler whisperer

  1. Megan says:

    Your conversation with Hazel sounds like what I go through with Henry. He’ll say he doesn’t want to do something because he’s “so tired”. He will also say he doesn’t want something and when I repeat back that he doesn’t want it he gets upset that I’m not giving it to him.

    It’s not the terrible two’s, it’s the “make up your mind already!” two’s.

  2. the MomB says:

    Ha ha, yes–it’s the wonderful but often frustrating “twos”. Two-year-olds have a greater need for self-assertion than for logic, and for more autonomy than they can manage, n’est-ce pa?

    Oh how I love having these stories.

  3. Jason says:

    Hazel, Hazel, quite contrazel, a very bright two-year-old.

Leave a Reply

