I do not think that means what you think it means (edition 7,632)

Ah, the joys of language acquisition. As I was wheeling my cart around Costco today, Henry had this conversation with me:

“Mom, I said I want to go to Wendy’s for lunch and go eat it at Grandma’s house. We haven’t gone to Grandma’s house in months. And I really want to go to Wendy’s.”

“We don’t have time for that today. We need to get ready for Hazel to have birthday cake and presents with our family this evening. So we’re not going to Wendy’s.”

“Yes, we are! You promised!”

“I did not promise. In fact, I promised we would not go to Wendy’s.”

“No, you didn’t! I know! You don’t remember!”

“Henry, you do not get to go to Wendy’s today.”

“Yes I do! I do get to go to Wendy’s! YOU GET WHAT YOU GET, AND YOU DON’T THROW A FIT!”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I do not think that means what you think it means (edition 7,632)

  1. Jason says:

    Parents are sooo illogical sometimes.

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    How funny! We just watched Princess Bride last night and that is one of my favorite lines.

Leave a Reply

