My subconscious does things my conscious can only dream of

This afternoon I realized that in my mind I was singing some randomly-selected lyrics from the song “Master of the House” from Les Miserables to the tune of the chorus of “Dinah won’t you blow your horn,” like this:

[Dinah won’t you blow] Charge ’em for the mice

[Dinah won’t you blow] Extra for the lice

[Dinah won’t you blow your ho-o-orn] Two percent for looking in the mirror twice

[Dinah won’t you blow] Kidney of a horse

[Dinah won’t you blow] Liver of a cat

[Dinah won’t you blow your horn] Filling up the sausages with this and that

My mind did have to rush the words “this and that” to fit them in the final syllable, but rather than being deterred by that extra little challenge, my mind only seemed inspired to focus harder.

They say that we only use a fraction of our mind’s ability, and that our minds could accomplish astonishing things if only we could find a way to give them free reign. But I think that my mind, at least, is better off bridled.


(Bunny brain-optimization device borrowed from here.)

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, Me thinking about stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My subconscious does things my conscious can only dream of

  1. Mrs. Organic says:

    I never realized it was possible to have two simultaneous earworms. Aack!

  2. Lili says:

    Funny, I was just telling S&P that the other day, for the first time in my life, I was thinking about brain capacity as a finite thing… I found myself wondering if it could actually be possible to run out of room in our brains in a similar way to how a hard drive fills up? I’d only ever assumed that brains had infinite room (which is the much more empowering and comforting thought)… or certainly enough that we can’t fill it up in our lifetime. It was a spooky idea. Thankfully, I’ve never heard of anyone using up all of their brain.

    Oh. And awesome illustration, as always. 🙂

  3. the MomB says:

    That poor bunny, attacked by a spider in disguise.

  4. NotMolly says:

    Not an earworm, but: Sunday, I got bored and snarky, and wrote an Easter song, starting with Genesis, and ending with the Resurrection, set to the Star Wars anthem.

    I’m probably darned to heck for that. But my kids thought it was cool.

Leave a Reply

