Lifelike toys and unlifelike beverages

The cup and spoon in the center of this photo were left behind when one of the kids had Strawberry Quik this morning. The other spoon and cup come from our toy kitchen set. Apparently Hazel had big plans.

Dean bought the Strawberry Quik, not me, but I do have enough compassion that I made some for Hazel and put it in a sippy cup.

Another “beverage” Dean likes is Ovaltine, even though Ovaltine tastes like vitamins, makes an unflattering appearance in the movie “A Christmas Story,” and is rumored to make one’s irises and pupils disappear.

(Yes, I did spend way too much time on this illustration. Which did take up any time I could have spent on a “real” blog post.)

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Lifelike toys and unlifelike beverages

  1. Nae says:

    Hazel has never looked so…possessed before. 🙂

  2. Mrs. Organic says:

    I love your illustrations. And what is it with husband buying strawberry syrups for milk? I grew up wishing for Ovaltine, but we only had Klim to drink. Klim, if you’ll notice, is milk spelled backwards and was a faux powdered milk – nasty. Ovaltine would’ve improved the taste considerably.

  3. the MomB says:

    I still own my Ovaltine mug like this one:

    Ovaltine used to taste good. I guess they changed the recipe. Sigh, they keep doing that to good things. Or ceasing production altogether.

    • zstitches says:

      Or maybe Ovaltine would still taste good to you? I never did care for it.

      When I was looking for a Little Orphan Annie/Ovaltine image, there were a whole lot of mugs, and I thought, “Mugs must have been their main giveaway product.” But I forgot that you have one. 🙂

      I’ve never been able to bring myself to like the Little Orphan Annie drawings because of the creepy eyes, and I’ve never been able to bring myself to like the live musical version because of the screeching. Also the lyrics were hard to parse and nonsensical: “Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love you tomorrow”–so you don’t love me today? (Yes, I do now get that she’s singing to tomorrow itself, but as a child the meaning was more opaque to me.) “You’re always a day away.” What’s good about that? What kid likes something she can have tomorrow but never today?

Leave a Reply

