Birth-order experts say we’re compassionate, responsible, and SUPER FUNNY

Looking over Mabel’s shoulder, I ask, “You’re writing your persuasive essay on why being the 2nd-oldest is the worst position in the family? But it’s the best!”

“I know there are good things about it, but it’s easier to put voice into an essay and use exclamation points and big words when you’re writing about something negative.  You know what, when all the kids were working on their essays and I was talking with Mrs. M. about mine, all the kids were kind of listening because nobody else was talking, and when she got to the part where I had written ‘I was the ugliest baby,’ She said, ‘I don’t believe that!’ And I was like, dang, because now I’ll never convince my mom. I said, ‘No, really! I was a balding gorilla.’ And all the kids were confused because they didn’t know what we were talking about. They probably thought I was talking about a Halloween costume or something.”

“You were NOT an ugly baby. And you know I’m the 2nd-oldest, right?”

“Really? Oh. Oh, yeah!”

“And I’m the first daughter. Just like you.”

“Oh. Hm.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Birth-order experts say we’re compassionate, responsible, and SUPER FUNNY

  1. Jason says:

    I’m delighted to read this.

  2. GrandpaT says:

    ROTFLMHO!

  3. Mrs. Organic says:

    I love that she took the hard sell position.

  4. Thora says:

    This proves what I’ve long suspected, based on most Internet persuasive pieces – being negative really is the easier position.

    And I like the reference pictures at the end of the post 🙂

    • Jason says:

      I completely agree–and anecdotally, I’ve witnessed it many, many times in the corporate world: always easier to shoot down an idea than to take the risk and responsibility of supporting one.

  5. Laura says:

    Uh-oh, I am the second oldest.

  6. danithew says:

    Crap. Laura beat me to this thread. My lines aren’t good any more.

    But isn’t that just like a second-child daughter person …

Leave a Reply

