A little essay on why I’m not actually very well-read

I used to read a lot of books. Then I had five children. Then came the internet.

This entry was posted in Me thinking about stuff, Taking self-deprecation to a remedial level. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A little essay on why I’m not actually very well-read

  1. Ha, ha. This is a great essay. Very succinct and universally understood.

  2. Erin says:

    Exchange the word “five” with the word “three” and that essay fits me perfectly.

  3. Nae says:

    I seriously did laugh out loud. Richard says it’s Pulitzer worthy.

  4. I am happy to tell you that I hadn’t had much reading time till lately. I didn’t know if I would ever regain that free reading time I once had. It has gotten better. People told me it would get better when the youngest was three. It did, but now, when the youngest is four,my life is SUBSTANTIALLY……..well….I don’t know the word, but let’s just say, I think I had a fairly relaxing weekend last week, and that was our first in ten years…..or so it seems. And I am for taking it, and I am for reading up a storm and enjoying a tad of free time. Soooooooo, give it a couple years…..and the best thing about having kids close together is……they all go to school….sooner. If the wrong person read this with the wrong frame of mind they might get the wrong impression.

  5. What I am trying to say is I do love and adore my children, but it’s nice to read sometimes.

    • zstitches says:

      I did not take this the wrong way at all. It gives me something to look forward to. 🙂 My kids are spread pretty widely (but an advantage of that is that the older ones make good babysitters) but I am not sure I’m all done having kids (that is a very big question mark in my life) and it’s still pretty hard to find time to read. Still, I have actually been reading quite a bit more in the past few years than in the previous 7 or 8. But that’s still only four or five books a year (I think–I need to start writing down the titles of stuff I read).

  6. Sarah says:

    Haha! Well said 🙂
    Here’s my version:
    I used to read a lot of books. Then came the internet.

    I don’t have kids as a valid excuse yet!! Haha 🙂

  7. Janet says:

    just found your blog, love it so far.
    as for this very well-written essay, an equally succinct reply-
    ipod, audiobooks.

Leave a Reply

