On the cusp of two

Why is this child so sad?

And why is she clutching that pair of jeans?

Noooo they be stealin’ my pants!

I had been doing a load of darks, and had asked the kids to bring me any jeans that needed washing.  The jeans Hazel was wearing were a little dirty, so I got out a clean pair of pants and asked Mabel to put them on Hazel so I could put the jeans in the laundry.

Hazel proceeded to throw a full-scale tantrum.  Mabel finally succeeded, but Hazel retrieved the jeans from the laundry basket, crying, “My pants! My pants!”  I gave Hazel a piece of chocolate to see if that would calm her down, but it didn’t.  I asked if she wanted to help me put the load of laundry in, which is a task she sometimes loves.  She continued to clutch her jeans and wail, “My pants!”

So I went and got my camera.  I snapped a couple of pictures, then told Mabel she could help Hazel put the jeans back on.

Sometimes you just have to let the toddler win.

When it was all over, I said, “Thanks, Mabel,” and Hazel added, “Ank-you, Babel.”

(Incidentally, the hand-embroidered bunny on Hazel’s shirt that she’s showing  to Mabel in the second-to-last photo actually predates the bunny theme of this blog.  It was one of Mabel’s favorite toys, and on a long road trip I set it on the dashboard of our car (this was in our little old ’85 Accord, so this also predates our minivan) and I drew the bunny, then traced the drawing onto the shirt and embroidered it.)

P.S. Dean wanted to know whether I realized that Henry has food all over his face in that photo.  Yup, I had noticed.  And Hazel has snot all over her upper lip.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to On the cusp of two

  1. Jason says:

    The Cindy-lou Who curl slays me.

  2. Kristina P. says:

    Those pictures are hilarious. Love crying babies!

  3. Mrs. Organic says:

    But she’s such a cute little snot.

  4. Rachel Sue says:

    My husband has yet to learn when to let the toddler win. I will really be happy when he finally gets it.

  5. Robert says:

    This post competes for all-time favorite.

    LOVE.

Leave a Reply

