I do not think that word means what you think it means

Sunday when I picked Henry up from his first day in his “CTR 4” Primary class, he and his friends showed me their new CTR rings and told me how the rings stood for choosing! the right! and how the rings had power! to help them choose the right!

Monday morning I told Henry that he could watch The Incredibles, but that we would have to stop the movie before it was over so he could put on his shoes and go to gymnastics.  He agreed to this, but when the time came he didn’t want me to stop the movie! and wouldn’t put on his shoes! and he hated gymnastics! and he wasn’t going to go! and he was going to stay! home! and watch! the Incredibles! and I was a stupid! stupid! mom!

I told him he had to keep his promise, and if he didn’t put on his shoes he’d have to go barefoot.  I picked up Hazel and headed for the car.

Henry shouted, “I don’t have to go to gymnastics!  I can do what I want.”

“No, you don’t get to do what you want.  You promised you would turn off the movie when it was time for gymnastics, and you have to keep your promise and obey your mom.”

“You’re wrong!  I don’t have to go to gymnastics!  I’m CHOOSING THE RIGHT!”

(He did pull on his flip-flops at the last minute and ran for the car–and was only 10 minutes late for his class.  When I picked him up, I learned that the class that day was the most! fun! ever!)

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I do not think that word means what you think it means

  1. Kristina P. says:

    I can see this may be a problem in the future!

  2. the MomB says:

    Lol, I love this.
    In Primary, they should give 4-year-olds DWMS rings.
    When we’d get into tussles as very youngsters, my brother Robert having thrown the first punch and then getting his own back, would yell “Do unto others as you would have them do unto you!”

  3. Kayli says:

    Kids are so awesome. And so is Choosing! The! Right! and that Bunny CTRer!

  4. Jason says:

    Who couldn’t love that kid?

  5. Acheté says:

    Hilarity unabated. No wonder they were excited, if they thought they had just been given Rings of Autonomy. At the ballot box, always remember to Choose The Entitlement.

  6. Lili says:

    Yeah, before you told me this story, I had heard him saying “I can do what I want!” a couple times this past week.

    Aah, primary!

    • zstitches says:

      Yes–Henry’s belief that I can’t tell him what to do predates his getting a CTR ring. 🙂

      A couple weeks ago I told a 4-year-old boy at church to be a good helper to his grandma, and he literally told me, “You’re not the boss of me!”

  7. Erin says:

    Oh boy. (I also mistyped it and said, “Oh boys.” But that applies here too.) Please don’t let him teach my children about his version of choosing the right.

  8. Ligia Huntington says:

    That story is hilarious. Thanx for sharing.

  9. Hannah says:

    Hahahahah!

Leave a Reply

