Math redeemed

This wonderful video allows us to take back all those bad things we’ve said about math here this week.  Well, actually it helps confirm our bias against uninspiring math teachers, and confirms our belief that math, presented well, can be beautiful.

(This was posted by one of my Facebook friends, but I don’t remember who–sorry!)

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DK5Z709J2eo]

I absolutely love this.  If you follow the link to Youtube, there’s a link to her website and lots more videos. We haven’t watched them all yet, but I’m sure my kids will want to watch more of them.

I showed it to my kids this afternoon, and immediately Mabel drew this:

Next I want an elephant fractal in color.

Funny little update:  This video reminded Dean about a TED talk about motivation that someone had animated, which he then showed to me, and the talk (but not the animation) was already familiar to me because Anneke had posted the link on Facebook, and then I remembered that Anneke was the one who posted the link to the math doodle video, too.  Thanks, Anneke!

(So here’s the TED talk animation, which isn’t about math but which is interesting and fun to watch if you have 11 minutes.)

[Youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u6XAPnuFjJc]

This entry was posted in Me? Opinionated?, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Other people are funny. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Math redeemed

  1. Mrs. Organic says:

    Or how about a new header with a bunny fractal? I love this.

  2. Jason says:

    I love it. Mr Knudsen was the polar opposite of this wonderfully engaging teacher.

  3. the MomB says:

    So glad to have the *incentives* link back! I’ve thought of that talk so often but didn’t know how to find it (I even tried). Loved this whole post, and thanks for the droring, Mabes.

Leave a Reply

