Are you smarter than a frustrated 5th-grader?

Mabel’s complaining bitterly, yet again, that her math textbook makes things unnecessarily hard and confusing.  She says, “And the authors all look like crazy old men with jutting teeth and evil eyes.”  I start to laugh.  “Really!  I’ll show you the picture.  Look, and they’re all wearing sweaters, too.  They look like the kind of people I’d feel really awkward around.  Like they’d say ‘Why don’t you go play with the toys downstairs?’ And they’re all little baby toys.  Look, it says one of them is even deceased, they’re so old.  They call it [‘textbook title,’] but it’s really a form of torture.”

Menacing textbook writers

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Are you smarter than a frustrated 5th-grader?

  1. Jason says:

    I wouldn’t voluntarily submit my kids to THAT mob. Go Mabel!

    • zstitches says:

      I feel a little sorry for the well-meaning mathematicians. But I do feel for Mabel, too, because in addition to asking kids to solve problems, this math book tells her to explain her process and reasoning for every single dang problem, and that would get very, very tedious.

  2. Jason says:

    Boredom and isolation are the greatest problems facing children in the American educational “system” these days. Well, those and guns.

  3. Rachel Sue says:

    That is one sassy fifth grader. You watch out for that chick.

    And I totally get it. I can see them sitting around and shooing kids. She’s right about that one.

  4. the MomB says:

    Remind me not to wear a sweater….

  5. Emily S. says:

    I just ordered Jack a math curriculum that looks so different and cool! It’s called Life of Fred, and it’s supposed to be especially good for highly verbal children. It’s language based and the concepts are all explained around humorous stories and such. I’m excited to get it, I think Jack is going to love it.
    So sorry that Mabel is hating her math text book.

  6. Lis says:

    I’ve never trusted old people in sweaters.

  7. zstitches says:

    That’s such an interesting attitude for someone who knits. 🙂 Perhaps it could be said that baby sweaters inspire trust, but things change as the sweaters and their wearers get larger. (I should probably clarify, though, that personally I’ve never been an anti-sweaterite.)

Leave a Reply

