Raspberry-Pomegranate Party Jell-o

This will be devoured faster than you can say its name.

Ingredients:

16-oz bag frozen raspberries
Arils from 1 large pomegranate
2 6-oz boxes raspberry Jell-o

Topping:

1 8-oz package cream cheese, softened
1 16-oz container of sour cream
powdered sugar

Immerse the pomegranate in a bowl of water, then cut it open and and use your fingers to pry the arils from the husk. Immersing the pomegranate keeps the juice from spraying or staining. ( If you have ever tried it any other way, you’ll know what a great tip this is.)

Spread the frozen berries and the arils in a 9×13 pan.

You’ll start to feel festive already

In a large glass bowl, boil 3.5 cups of water.  Add both boxes of Jell-o and stir well until completely dissolved.  Stir in 3 cups of crushed ice.  Pour Jell-o over berries and put in fridge to set.  (Note:  this is the “quick-set” method and should only take about 30 minutes to set up. The reduced amount of water helps offset the water from the berries and helps the Jell-o to be firm.)

You can serve this as it is, or with whipped cream, or even with non-dairy whipped topping.  (If you must. I’ve heard that some people like that stuff).  But for people you really love, you can add this topping:

Whip softened cream cheese for 2-3 minutes.  Add sour cream and whip again, scraping sides of bowl.  Add powdered sugar to taste–I usually put in about 2/3 cup.  Spread over Jell-o.

Your toddler will volunteer to help with this step

It’s a little tricky to spread the thick topping on the Jell-o. I usually drop blobs of it until it’s somewhat evenly blobbed, and then spread the topping as smoothly as I can.  (If your topping gets a little pink, it’ll still taste good.)

(I forgot to take a picture of this before we covered it with plastic wrap and headed to the party.)

This is a great dish to bring to a gathering if you don’t want leftovers.  Even if you do want leftovers, the happiness on people’s faces might make you glad you shared.

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Raspberry-Pomegranate Party Jell-o

  1. Kristina P. says:

    Oh, my! I am all over that.

  2. Deb says:

    Yummy!!! I’m gonna try it!

  3. Rachel Sue says:

    I am not a big pomegranate fan, but I had this once at a ward function something or other and it was delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. Cheryl says:

    okay. so This sounds yummy! But after reading 4 or 5 posts, really what I want to say in this comment is how much I miss the Wheelers. All of you. I am so happy for your blog and your blogging skills. I envy you. 🙂

  5. Cheryl says:

    but not a wicked envy. just a, “I like your talents a lot” kind of envy. Is that allowed?

    • zstitches says:

      It’s allowed! If I’m going to waste my life away sitting too long at the computer, it’s nice to have someone to enable, I mean validate me. 🙂 Thanks!

  6. Acheté says:

    I love a person who will take the time to scan the Wikipedia article on pomegranates for the correct botanical nomenclature to describe the juice pockets that surround the seed. I also love Party Jello.

  7. the MomB says:

    I want to write a verse that speaks of the drupes and arils of fortune.

  8. ~j. says:

    Aaaaaaaaand…thank you.

    (I learned of arils from a recipe in Real Simple magazine.)

Leave a Reply

