Golden Gates and Golden Arches

First San Francisco banned Happy Meals.  Now it’s considering banning circumcision.

Is nothing sacred?

(I first heard of the proposed circumcision ban in this article, which you should definitely read, by an Orthodox Jew explaining why he loves Christmas music.)

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Golden Gates and Golden Arches

  1. Jen says:

    I had no idea! I love the gizmodo article. “San Francisco clearly hates children. And happiness.” Hahaha.

  2. Megan says:

    I hadn’t heard about the second yet. I’m stunned.

    Thanks for posting the Rosen article. It was an enjoyable read.

  3. Cynedra says:

    If I remember correctly, you are also not allowed to sit on the sidewalk at all in San Francisco now either. Sure makes me want to visit or move there – NOT! (Currently planning a trip for tomorrow to McDonald’s for my boys for $1.99 Happy Meals that INCLUDE toys).

    • zstitches says:

      I was born in San Francisco and, crazy politics aside, I love the place dearly. I don’t think the circumcision ban could possibly pass, but it will be an interesting test of the durability of freedom of religion.

  4. jenlinmin says:

    I must take the opportunity to defend this city that I love! If you REALLY want your child to eat a sawdust-filled burger and fries, the city is only 7 miles long… it’s not that difficult to drive to a neighboring city to treat your child to edible foodlike substances and cheap plastic crappy toys. If you REALLY must circumcise your child, same thing. If it’s too hot, just stay out of the kitchen. (All said with a smile, of course!)

    • zstitches says:

      If you are Jewish, then you REALLY must circumcise your child to observe your religion. In the United States, where religious freedom is protected by the Constitution, you should not have to go outside of your own city, where you are taxed and where you vote, to practice your religion. I really don’t think the ban will succeed–but if it did, it would garner MUCH more serious reaction and opposition than the Happy Meal ban did. Of course (as the article I linked to points out) religious freedom does not extend to things that are recognized as criminal activities–but it will be a dark day if the traditional practice of Judaism is criminalized in any of our fair nation’s fair cities.

    • zstitches says:

      P.S. I’m sure you were meaning to be lighthearted, but (as you can tell from my response) I really think the circumcision issue is very serious.

  5. jenlinmin says:

    Good points, Zina. I think the Happy Meal ban is not a big deal (because I find them downright repulsive), but as you pointed out, the circumcision issue is much more important (because I don’t have a son I don’t think about it much). The Jewish community in San Francisco is pretty large and probably more influential than I realize, so you are probably right that nothing will come of it. We seem to be mostly a city of “live and let live” and I bet the arguments for allowing people to marry whom they choose are not that different from allowing people to practice their respective religions the way they choose. I’ll have to chew on that a little more… Thanks for igniting the spark!

Leave a Reply

