Still burning

After we attended a get-together in another part of Provo this evening, I asked Dean to drive by the Provo Tabernacle.  We had our kids with us and it was past their bedtime, so we didn’t have time to circle for the best viewpoint (and the main road is closed) but Dean found a place to park and Mabel and I got out of the car to get a better look. I used her head as a tripod to get these photos from the southwest (in the foreground on the left is the parking structure behind the tabernacle):

If you’re in the Provo area or have spent time there, you’re likely already following this story, but if not you can find more about it here and here.

On Facebook, my sister Mary said, “I am so, so sad about the Provo Tabernacle. First thing that came to mind was when my mom took small me there for my first ever Messiah sing-in, giving me my own copy of the score to hold — and the wonder of the glorious music, and the exhilaration of discovering that I could follow along with the words and the notes …as they went up and down, and make out the 4 different parts . . .” Then she said, “Add to that 100 more sacred memories.”

I would have said almost exactly the same thing. (Except for the part about following along with the notes; I’m still working on that.) I also agree with my mom, who says it was the most beautiful building in Utah Valley.

I don’t know what else to say. It will be missed. And I really, really hope it can be rebuilt.

Update: Some much better daylight photos can be found here.

And here are some aerials taken with a remote-control helicopter.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Still burning

  1. Kristina P. says:

    It’s so heartbreaking.

  2. Melissa says:

    So, so heartbreaking!

  3. Stephen says:

    Heartbreaking… precisely the sad word. I weep every time I see the image.

Leave a Reply

