Random dusty blog posts

I think it’s easy to find yourself in a place in life where your plate is so full, and your schedule so triangulated, that no matter how many fun ideas you have of new things to do with your time, you can hardly change a thing. And sometimes a blog can get caught in that kind of stasis. You might be really missing your “categories” drop-down menu on your sidebar, but can’t seem to get it to work with your current blog template, and the only solution seems to be to move your blog to a self-hosted site and get your web-designer brother to help you arrange things how you’d like them, but he and you are both busy with more important things, so you end up just living without that categories drop-down menu, sometimes for years.

When I returned from my 18-month church mission, I was amused and a little shocked to notice that certain objects at my home–not deliberately-placed decorative objects, but random objects that had at some time been dropped into the corner of a dusty shelf or stuck at the back of a counter–were still exactly where they had been when I’d left. Eighteen months of my youth was enough time for a vast life-changing adventure, but here at home dusty little random objects had remained perfectly stationary.

Now that I’m close to the age my parents were when I went on my mission, I easily see how that happens, and eighteen months seems like no time at all for a random dusty object to occupy a space. There are random dusty things in my home that have been there for the full seven-and-a-half years we’ve lived here. To me, they’re things I mean to organize or throw away, but to my children they’re things that have been there for their entire lives, and so must belong there.

When it comes to dusting off and organizing a blog, I see people saying that they have nothing to blog about, or I see people saying that they have too much to blog about and can’t keep up, and I relate to both sentiments. For this blog I’ve found that I prefer pithy slice-of-life posts, preferably with a bit of a punchline, and I fear to lose readers by boring you with lengthy documentary posts and miles of photos and text. I know your lives are as busy as mine and you likely don’t have time to read pages and pages of others’ blogs, even if you’d like to.  On the other hand, I don’t really keep a personal journal these days, so there’s nowhere else my family’s story is being kept, and I do have thousands of photos and many many inches of tedious description. So then I consider splitting my blog, keeping one blog that’s tightly edited and (I hope) somewhat entertaining, and one that’s more documentary. But then I think there would be too much overlap between the topics, and I’m not sure I would really write twice as much, and anyway it seems a little self-important to think that there’s much of a readership to lose in the first place.

And here’s where my thinking-out-loud suddenly leads me to a simple conclusion: I can just try to warn you when a post is more of a documentary-style post, and you don’t have to read it. (Not that you have to read any posts. But at least you’d be warned.) And I can just keep putting whatever I feel like here on my little blog, and you can keep doing whatever you want, and there still won’t be a nice category drop-down menu in the sidebar, but at least my kids will have a few posts to remind them of some of the things we did while they were growing up.

(And all this is one reason it’s nice not to have a “monetized” blog nor anyone to answer to.  I can be as boring as I like!  How I do cherish my freedom to bore!)

So, for the grandparents, here are a few more outtakes from last week’s photo shoot:

Isaac is laughing here because I had asked him to take Hazel’s binky out of her mouth for the photo, but she immediately replaced it with a second binky she’d been holding in her other hand.

This entry was posted in Metabloggish, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Random dusty blog posts

  1. Annette says:

    I can relate. (Although I think you already said that.)

    I’m suddenly cataloging dusty stuff that’s been lying around for too long . . .

  2. the MomB says:

    Thank you. Thank you.

  3. Pmom says:

    Hooray for the non-monetized blog! Hurrah for being as boring as we want to be!

    I really enjoyed this post.

  4. Ligia Huntington says:

    Well said. The irony of it is that your thinking it would be a boring blog post was just the opposite. Quite entertaining and something a lot of moms can relate to.

  5. Jason says:

    I laughed, my coworkers laughed…and I love this view of Isaac’s laugh.

  6. Acheté says:

    Always interesting, in spite of yourself.

  7. Nae says:

    I love it! And I’ll love any type of post that you post, documentary or not. Rich and I think you are a fantastic writer. 🙂

  8. American Yak says:

    I don’t suppose this post is referring to anyone else? :p

    — noting that I have interest in creating little category dropdowns from time to time. 🙂

    • zstitches says:

      Good to know! I kind of have figured that you’ve been a little busy lately. With more important things. 🙂

      WordPress provides a nice category dropdown but I can’t seem to get it back into my sidebar after switching templates. I should try again, maybe there’s a simple solution I’ve overlooked.

      I’m used to the WordPress widgets and they mostly work well for me (and I’m used to them) but their template choices are lacking, so maybe some time in 2011 you could help me transfer everything to a self-hosted site and help make me a design/template I like better, and then run it with the free WordPress software. (This is a MAYBE depending on how serene my life is next year.)

Leave a Reply

