I forgot sunshine yellow

Henry, holding some colored pencils, just asked me, “Mom, what’s the colors of California?”

“You want to draw California–like a map of California?”

“I don’t want to draw a map of how to get to there!”

“But you want to draw it?  You want to draw the whole state of California?  Well . . . the colors are green and brown and blue.”

“You know that?  You know the colors of California?!”

“Yeah, I guess.”

“Hm.  Well, I don’t want to draw California.”

At Sea World in August.  Henry got this black eye falling off a bed the first night of our trip, so I guess for him the colors of California are also black and blue.

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I forgot sunshine yellow

  1. the MomB says:

    Heck yeah, sunshine yellow and CALIFORNIA POPPY ORANGE!

    That was the coolest question, Henry. I hadn’t even realized that I do have colors associated with California, and I would have known instantly what to answer. Not green and brown and blue, though (for me). Washington State is green and blue, with a little white. I don’t think I have color associations for Utah. Hmm, what an interesting train of thought….

    Has Henry seen maps? Is he thinking of how states and countries are sometimes colored on maps? Nah, probably not. He’s probably just seen google-type geo-maps, rather than political-boundary maps. Oh wait, you have that map up on your wall. Who knows what that kid was thinking?

    • zstitches says:

      Yeah, who knows. I thought he wanted to draw it or I might have said other colors.

      He has spent quite a bit of time putting together our wooden U.S. puzzle where each state is a puzzle piece.

      Utah’s color scheme changes a little with the seasons but (to me) most of the year it’s taupe, gray, beige, cream, green, and charcoal. Utah Valley, anyway. Southern Utah is brown and every color of glorious red, with gray roadways and a vivid blue sky. 🙂

  2. Kristina P. says:

    I think that a little red and blue could be thrown in for their fabulous gangs.

Leave a Reply

