Why you shouldn’t sew while sleepy

(But if you shouldn’t sew while sleepy, I can never sew until a) my stupid cold finally goes away, and b) my kids are all grown.)

Just now I was using a rotary cutter to trim the seam allowances on a nearly-finished top for Rose, and suddenly realized the cutter was going through more than just the seam allowance. I lifted my work and saw a deep double gash in the fabric. A feral sound of fear and grief came out of my mouth.

But I was lucky. The four-inch-long double horizontal gash was only in the lining fabric of the bodice, not on any part of the garment that will show when it’s being worn.

I thought I’d better just get back up on that horse, so I started to repair the gash. But I couldn’t get the interfacing patch to adhere properly, and then I couldn’t get the top and bottom tensions on the zigzag stitch to balance. So I ripped out the partial mending job, and decided that horse can wait until tomorrow to be tamed.

This entry was posted in Meanwhile in the real world, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why you shouldn’t sew while sleepy

  1. Jillybean says:

    I was sewing while drowsy the other night and finally decided to go to bed when I sewed the bodice front to the bodice back at the waistline.

  2. Acheté says:

    Loving the horsebunnies of the apocalypse. Do the “operate heavy machinery” warnings apply to sewing machines?

Leave a Reply

