Irrepressible

“Mabel, sit up straight. Rose and Henry, look at me. Ike, you’re squishing Mabel’s shoulders. Rose, stop that. Henry, Rose, look at me. Dean, could you get behind me? They’re looking at you instead of at the camera. Mabel, can you sit up straighter?”

Now, everybody smile!”


“Oh well, good enough. We’ll try again another time. Let’s go eat dinner.”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Irrepressible

  1. Jennette says:

    Aaaarrghh!!! Yes, I hate trying to get family pictures taken. I always wonder how other people do it. But maybe I’m not alone. However, I think that all of your children look simply adorable in those photos.

    • zstitches says:

      Fortunately this was fairly spur-of-the-moment and I was pretty philosophical about it. And I do think they look cute, if not portrait-posed.

      Probably my bigger problem is that I’m always too philosophical about it and need to get a little more hardline about making a family portrait really happen, even just once.

  2. Stephen says:

    Gosh! what a beautiful family. And I find these shots way more appealing and revealing than straight posed lifeless portraits. Kudos.

  3. Stephen says:

    I mean… does a straight portrait reveal how much love there is between these kids?

  4. the MomB says:

    My heart, my heart is bursting. I love Ike’s tie. I love Henry’s toes. I love all the smiles. When did Isaac’s arms get so long? I love my babies (with apologies to the older children–but you know you’ll always be my babies, just like your mom…). Thanks for taking pictures, thanks for posting them. Oh my beautifuls.

Leave a Reply

