My talents are unvaluable, er, invaluable

I don’t consider myself a master of pop culture at all, but I am nevertheless feeling proud of this Facebook exchange:

[My Facebook friend] is wondering who came first Pinocchio or Rudolph? When singing the silly version of Rudolph, and when the part says the Reindeer’s called Rudolph names like Pinnochio, I was like…hmm. could they have? who came first?

Zina: That is a profound question.

(I do actually think Pinocchio came first, but that’s without researching the question. But my guess is that Rudolph goes back no further than maybe 1930s, whereas Pinocchio seems at least a hundred years old.)

Zina: [After consulting Wikipedia] Now I’m feeling smart. Pinocchio first appeared in 1881, Rudolph in 1939.

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc.. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My talents are unvaluable, er, invaluable

  1. Grandpa T says:

    Have you ever played “Chronology” with us? Something tells me you would be deadly.

  2. zstitches says:

    I think I’ve played it once, and I think I won, but I remember it felt like luck and not skill.

    Now I’m also wondering when Monopoly was invented, not to mention how far the “silly versions” of the Rudolph song postdate the song.

  3. the MomB says:

    You are smart.

  4. Jen says:

    This just made me laugh so hard. Thanks.

  5. the MomB says:

    p.s. Unvaluable is a word (I just looked it up). That is a very interesting word pair, unvaluable and invaluable, similar to priceless and worthless but even better for making a point I like to make (about how similar word formulations get assigned different meanings). So, thanks.

Leave a Reply

