Look up there again

My November header is now up (which you won’t know unless I tell you, if you’re a Reader reader).

This entry was posted in Metabloggish. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Look up there again

  1. TARA says:

    I’m glad you pointed that out for us reader readers! 🙂

  2. Jen says:

    Thanks from a reader reader.

  3. Virginia Wood says:

    About your header . . . . It was a traumatic reminder that once I was actually served bunny by my mother. The neighborhood kids had taken to keeping an eye out for (and setting traps to catch and tame) a black bunny that scurried about in the bushes at the Johnson home and at around our home for weeks and weeks. One day, Mr. Johnson brought over some rabbit meat for stew. He’d caught and killed and skinned the rabbit.

    I made quite a fuss about NOT eating that rabbit stew. I sat at the dinner table for a long time NOT eating that rabbit stew.

    Aunt ginger

  4. Stephen says:

    When your mother was little, we could, and did, buy rabbit in the grocer’s. It really does (snicker) taste much as chicken. And chicken’s not that much a stretch from turkey. But we never had it for Thanksgiving.

  5. The little tomatoes do a good job of off-setting the rabbit. Eeeek. I don’t know why, but this image is quite disturbing to me. Maybe because my Grandpa Bartholomew raised rabbits and ate them. And once I was served one. And didn’t eat one bite. And I was quite sickened. Memories…………

  6. Maybe cause it looks like President Bush is about to eat a live rabbit. And his wife from the 50’s is smiling supportively. Along with the token children. I think I am going to have nightmares tonight:)

  7. the MomB says:

    What Uncle Stephen didn’t tell you is that he also shot rabbits on the San Juan Islands when we were kids. I think we ate a couple of those, but usually the wild ones had diseased livers and weren’t good for eating (Dad knew how to tell if they were OK; they ate rabbits too when he was a kid. His dad, my Grandpa Huntington, was noted for being able to kill a fast-running rabbit with a stone throw to the head. We can only afford to be squeamish because food is so easy to come by for us. Sorry, Laura.) It was no crime to shoot the island rabbits–they couldn’t swim away and they overran the place. Bunnies are darling, but they also taste great. Like chick….

Leave a Reply

