I’m actually fine with this

I ask Rose, “Can you bring me your homework folder?”

She says, “Why?”

“So that I can sign off your home reading.”

“I already took care of that.  I figured out what to do.  I just put Daddy’s initials.”

Oh.  Well, okay then.

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I’m actually fine with this

  1. Acheté says:

    Hahahahahahahaha!

  2. Mrs Organic says:

    That girl is a genius!

  3. Kelly Bryson says:

    That’s too funny. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Kristina P. says:

    You are going to be in trouble!!

  5. Hannah says:

    I’m pretty sure I got in trouble for this when I was her age.

  6. zstitches says:

    I do LOVE for kids to be independent about getting their homework done–as long as she is being honest about having done the work, which I think she will be. So I hope she doesn’t get in trouble. Maybe I will have to make her practice copying Dean’s handwriting . . .

  7. Megan says:

    My mom was telling me about a principal that was on the news. He has a no-homework policy at his school. He stated that studies that have been done don’t show an increase in test scores with homework and he wants the kids to spend that time with their family instead. I think they’re in school an hour longer, but that would be great to not have to deal with homework when they got home.

    Sorry I don’t have references for who the principal is or the news article. If anyone knows I would be interested in finding more (Lili? You always seem to be able to find obscure references.)

    • zstitches says:

      I am in complete agreement with this except for the extra hour of school. (I’d be in favor of school being one or two hours shorter.)

      I don’t mind so much with things like science fair projects where it’s great for the kid to work with a parent, but most of the rest of it I’d gladly be rid of. (Actually I could get rid of science fairs without too much grief, too.)

  8. Jason says:

    A tip for Rose, your budding forger: I learned from White Collar that turning the signature upside down to copy makes it easier because it’s more like simply copying a picture.

  9. varenia says:

    ohmygosh, that is so funny!

  10. OhSusanna says:

    I wish that principal would talk to my principal. Otherwise I love our school. I had a meeting with the special ed people at my school last year for one of my kids and one of my suggestions for my kid was no homework. They all looked at me like I had suggested cutting off her hand and said “oh no no no, we couldn’t do that.”

    There actually are many many studies that show no real academic benefits of homework (at least the kind of busy work that most teachers give), but nobody seems to have read them or want to believe them. Blurgh. Can you tell that you’ve got me on my soapbox?

  11. OhSusanna says:

    p.s. I really could go on and on, but I’m stopping.

Leave a Reply

