Deep thoughts while putting on my tarnished old pair of $5.50, buy-two-get-one-free Claire’s earrings

I’ve been having an existential  crisis about jewelery. Since it doesn’t actually change anything significant about the wearer’s appearance–not his or her complexion, face shape, or coloration–what’s the point?  An unattractive person will just look like an unattractive person wearing jewelery.

But then I realized: at least it gives people *something* pretty to look at when they look my direction.

(I do realize this is a new low in self-deprecation for me.  Sometimes it’s worth it for a joke.)

This entry was posted in I think I'm funny, Me thinking about stuff, Taking self-deprecation to a remedial level. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Deep thoughts while putting on my tarnished old pair of $5.50, buy-two-get-one-free Claire’s earrings

  1. Jason says:

    I think it has a value much like what attracts crows to sparkly things.

  2. Hannah says:

    Is this charm used to ward off the Easter Bunny or attract elementary school librarians?

Leave a Reply

