Summertime, and the livin’ is easy (kind of)

Today is August 17th, which means that last year my kids would have already gone back to school, in a wretched truncation of summer.  This year school doesn’t start until next week, so we got a real, glorious summer, marred only by my desperate but futile attempts to get my kids to do chores.  My kids will tell you, with agony etched into their faces, that I make them do 3 hours of chores a day, but the real story is that by insisting they do 3 hours of chores a day, sometimes I get a solid 3 minutes out of them before they wander off and start poking each other in the eyes or throwing large cardboard boxes at each other or participating in any other activity you can (or can’t)  imagine that is a) inciting of further chaos and b) not a chore.

Anyway, this year we got a real summer and spent two perfect weeks in L.A. and San Diego.  I say “perfect” as being measured on a traveling-with-kids scale, which is to say that when our radiator cracked, we were very blessed to discover the damage BEFORE we were in the middle of the Nevada desert, and to get it fixed the same day by very helpful guys at a repair shop right next to where we discovered the problem, and we only had to spend another hundred bucks when we got back to Utah to get their not-quite-expert work further repaired.  Other than that, there was perfect weather, loved ones to visit, fun things to do, and only about one meltdown per small child per day.

And now we still have 8 days until the kids go back to school, which is wonderful, and not nearly enough, and why does summer ever have to end?  Also, do my kids really need to have season-appropriate clothes that fit them when they go back to school, or can’t I wait until October or November to do their so-called “Back to School” shopping?  And do I really need to get Rose to an optometrist before she goes back to school, like I told the school nurse I would?  Just because she mistook a fly for a spider last night doesn’t really mean she’s missing out by not being able to see further than a few inches, right?

To help me answer all these questions, I stayed up until almost 4 AM last night reading the 4th book in the “Thief” series by Megan Whalen Turner, which was a very foolish and risky thing to do (what if my feral children had needed actual parenting today?) but which I can’t bring myself to feel terrible about, because it was a great book, and also because I was lucky enough to not get that horrible achy feeling behind my eyes that I usually get if I try to stay up too late reading.  So I had to seize the day, or anyway the night, and suffer what consequences may come later.

I love this series.  It’s hard to say what I love without spoiling it, but the books have complicated plots and interesting relationships, both between individual characters and between nations.  The books are fantasies set in fictional countries similar to early Greece.  They are better than Twilight.  You should read them.

I love it that someone found my blog by searching “She’s a caution” yesterday.  Also, two people found my blog by searching “savory fried starchy vegetable phenomenon,” but I should have expected that.  Or maybe I should be disappointed that only two people followed my link to Google and then back to my blog.  Apparently some people have better things to do with their summer.  Maybe they are staying up very late reading good books, in which case, I hope they are enjoying their illicit late night reading forays as much as I would.

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc., Meanwhile in the real world, Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Summertime, and the livin’ is easy (kind of)

  1. the MomB says:

    Naturally I loved this post.
    If I’m not mistaken (sometimes I am), Quackles and Wabbit stand out much more nicely than they did when I sent them to you, which is exciting.

  2. Kerri Madsen says:

    I am reading the Thief series now based on your recommendation. I’m just starting the 2nd one. Thanks for the reading hint. By the way, I didn’t love Mockingjay as much as the 1st two books.

    • zstitches says:

      The 2nd is my favorite, although I enjoyed the whole series (there are four and I think there will be at least one more).

      I would tell you my take on Mockingjay but I’m trying to avoid spoilerish comments until more people have had a chance to finish it. But I’ve heard a lot of people didn’t like Mockingjay as much as the first two books. But I did. (So much for avoidance.)

Leave a Reply

