Can you smell a toddler’s stinky diaper in a dream?

I was just sitting here checking email while Hazel checked out the contents of a treat bag Henry had received at his cousin’s birthday party.  She pulled out a small plastic top and decided it must be a binky, so she stuck the handle part of it in her mouth.  I took the top from her, and showed her how it could be set to spinning on the seat of a wooden chair.  Then she pulled a couple of rubber balls out of the bag, and she and I talked about balls and how there were two of them.  Then I turned back to the computer screen, then glanced back in her direction just in time to see the top topple.

It took me a second to figure out why the sight of the little top falling struck such a significant chord in my psyche.

It’s too bad a top isn’t my totem, so I can’t be sure I’m not dreaming.

A beautiful dream

(You can tell it’s a dream because the colors are so washed-out.)

Also, I think Isaac’s BYU cap is his totem.

Also, I had to Google the word “totem,” because I could only think of “constant.”

Also, when I realized where I’d gotten the word “constant” from, it reminded me of this excellent Tweet by Damon Lindelof (co-creator of “Lost”): “I wish that someone would break into my dreams and give me an idea HALF as good as INCEPTION.”

On the other hand, I’ve heard that ideas are a dime a dozen, and execution is everything.  So I guess what Lindelof actually needs is a good execution.

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc., Me thinking about stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Can you smell a toddler’s stinky diaper in a dream?

  1. Kristina P. says:

    I kept saying “token.” Whatever.

  2. Maren says:

    You are hilarious. I totally agree with your early post. And I love those nights that I stay up late reading an excellent book. At least until I finish, look at the clock, then go to bed. Then look at the clock again an hour later. And again several times every ten minutes. Because I can never go right to sleep after a marathon reading. Either the ending is great and I can’t stop thinking about it. Or the ending sucks and I’m very upset by it. Or it’s mediocre and I keep thinking of ways it would be better. So maybe love isn’t quite the verb to use…

Leave a Reply

