No, seriously, I cannot keep up (blogwise) with this girl

Rosie has unintentionally made roomfuls of people laugh out loud several times lately, and sadly I didn’t take notes and have already forgotten the things she said.  But I do remember this one. My sister-in-law’s friend, who had just met Rose, started telling her a poem.  I’m not sure if she was making the poem up or reciting it from memory, but it went something like this:

There was a rose in a garden
First it was just a tiny bud
Then it blossomed into a flower–

Rose nodded wisely, and interrupted, “And then I died.”

In other funny-child news, Dean asked us each to say something we’re thankful for, and Henry’s answer was, “I’m thankful for Heavenly Father, and bad guys.”  I can’t wait for him to share that sentiment in Primary at church–and I’m sure he will, since it’s already become part of his liturgy.

Edited to add my brother Tracy’s account of another Rose quote:

I’ll see how well I can reconstruct and provide the setting for Rose’s answer during our tour of Timpanogos Cave, the one that prompted our tour guide (a second-grade teacher the rest of the year) to say, “Well that’s about the cutest answer I’ve ever heard.”

It was a running joke during the tour that cave explorers must be a hungry lot, since so many types of formation or specific named formations in this cave had names like bacon, soda straws, popcorn, or chocolate. It was amazing how still and clear the water was in rooms that had it, with a completely invisible surface–only at the edges could you see what the current water level was. [Zina adds:  We had also seen sedimentary layers and discussed how anciently the whole cave had been underwater.] We had seen several chambers with both stalactites and stalagmites, but the guide stood in front of a low chamber with only stalactites and a level floor and asked if anyone could guess what happened to the stalagmites here. “It looks paved over” was my wrong suggestion, but looking closer we could see it was hard-packed dirt or mud, like the result of sedimentation. “I know!” said Rose. “In water times,” [murmur of assent; smart kid!] “when the fish got hungry, they ate them up!”

This entry was posted in My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful). Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No, seriously, I cannot keep up (blogwise) with this girl

  1. Acheté says:

    I’ll see how well I can reconstruct and provide the setting for Rose’s answer during our tour of Timpanogos Cave, the one that prompted our tour guide (a second-grade teacher the rest of the year) to say, “Well that’s about the cutest answer I’ve ever heard.”

    It was a running joke during the tour that cave explorers must be a hungry lot, since so many types of formation or specific named formations in this cave had names like bacon, soda straws, popcorn, or chocolate. It was amazing how still and clear the water was in rooms that had it, with a completely invisible surface–only at the edges could you see what the current water level was. We had seen several chambers with both stalactites and stalagmites, but the guide stood in front of a low chamber with only stalactites and a level floor and asked if anyone could guess what happened to the stalagmites here. “It looks paved over” was my wrong suggestion, but looking closer we could see it was hard-packed dirt or mud, like the result of sedimentation. “I know!” said Rose. “In water times,” [murmur of assent; smart kid!] “when the fish got hungry, they ate them up!”

  2. mary says:

    “And then I died”

    Funniest thing I’ve heard all day, and today was testimony meeting.

  3. debbie says:

    Kids are so funny! I can just imagine the looks after the “and then I died” statement!

  4. danithew says:

    “I’m thankful for Heavenly Father and bad guys.”

    That is so awesome! What a line.

Leave a Reply

