Pop culture indoctrination

Spoiler alert: You might not want to read this if you haven’t seen Toy Story 3 yet. Also you might not want to continue living. (That’s my subtle way of saying that I LOVED that movie.)


Woody and Jessie are dangling from the outside of the plane. Woody has lost his hat and the stitching at his arm is coming undone, and the plane is taking off. Suddenly Buzz comes racing up on Bullseye to save the day.

Isaac says, “I love how they do that–bring new characters you’d forgotten about back into the equation when you can’t see a solution.” Mabel says, “Yeah, like with the aliens and the claw at the end of Toy Story 3.” I say, “They really got me with that one–I knew they wouldn’t have them all die at the end of the movie, but I really couldn’t think how they were going to get out of it.” (During that scene I even whispered to Dean, “Where’s Barbie?,” thinking maybe she could save them, and forgetting she’d gotten left back at the Sunnyside daycare center.)

We’ve gotten our old Toy Story and Toy Story 2 VHS tapes back into rotation. This took some effort, because Rose and particularly Henry had gotten the idea that they didn’t like those movies. I think the main reason they didn’t like them before is that they were a little scary for them, and I correctly guessed that enough time had passed that they would like them this time. So I used my motherly persuasion skills and said if they wanted to watch a movie they could only watch those ones. It worked and now they’re watching the movies voluntarily.   Besides that I loved the third movie, I had another motive to start a Toy Story revival at our house. We left Henry home with a babysitter when we saw TS3 because he doesn’t handle movies’ intense parts very well in a dark theater, but when I saw the totally adorable new Toy Story toys at Target I couldn’t resist buying a couple of them for Henry’s upcoming birthday. (This was even before I’d seen the movie.) So I needed Henry to be a fan.

Hedgehog photography is another up-and-coming trend at our house

This entry was posted in Books/Movies/TV/etc., My kids actually are funny (and sweet and wonderful), Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pop culture indoctrination

  1. the MomB says:

    You are so bad! I had to skip this whole post! Hipacryt!

    Except I love the adorable picture of Spike, even off-focus.

    • zstitches says:

      What’s even worse is that I took the kids to the movie on the same day you were given the go-ahead to walk, so I could have taken you with me if I’d thought of it. I wish I had. Sorry. I’d probably be willing to go with you.

      OH! I totally forgot (because I was trying to finish Mabel’s dress) that I had considered getting trying for late-release tickets to 110 in the Shade last night and taking Mabel. How was it?

    • zstitches says:

      I mean, I’d probably be wiling to see it with you again even though I’ve now seen it twice.

    • zstitches says:

      And by “it” I mean Toy Story, not 110 in the Shade. Simple clarity eludes me today.

  2. Annette says:

    TS3 had me bawling because my son was all of four when the first one came out. It brought back memories of his own Buzz and Woody toys, of him jumping off the couch yelling, “To infinity–and beyond!” and then the end? Killed me. He’ll be leaving in three years for college.

    (I had the exact same thought during the scene in the landfill–they CAN’T DIE–but how on EARTH will they get out?)

    • zstitches says:

      The movie definitely struck my heartstrings hard, too. I think I cried the first time when (another spoiler, oops) Big Baby saw the pendant and said “Ma-ma,” and from there on out I was intermittently sobbing for the rest of the movie.

  3. Jen says:

    Spoiler Comment Alert. I knew there was a deus ex machina in the works, too, but I just cried when they all looked at each other “one last time,” before they were all melted together, and then I wept again like a little girl when the Andy gave them all to the little girl. Such a good movie.

    • zstitches says:

      By the way (and this isn’t the first time I’ve thought of this, but you reminded me) this couldn’t be a more perfect/literal example of a deus ex machina. 🙂 “The claw decides who will stay and who will go.”

Leave a Reply

